We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the motorcyclist”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the motorcyclist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

May 21st - My friend and I really enjoyed this very retro motel. The rooms were big and comfortable and you can't beat the price. Wi-Fi Internet work just fine on my I-Pad. The TV itself was outdated, no HD here, you just except that it goes along with the rertro theme. The covered parking was great for anyone traveling on a motorcycle. It rained that night and continued to shower in the morning. It was nice to have a dry space to pack up our dry bikes before heading north. Both desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. If you want all the modern conveniences then you better select one of the mega chain motels, but they won't have the charm this place does.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    181
    95
    30
    14
See reviews for
110
166
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

There's an Internet problem, and that's a shame, because this place is roomy, clean, styled, and a bargain. Genuine redwood paneling, solid redwood doors throughout - the kind of motel that should be an easy favorite over the typical plastic motel. Curly Redwood, please get your act together on the Internet; It's an essential for travelers. Spend a few bucks and do it right. A rightful very good rating goes to "average" because of the frustration.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanZ97205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is hands down the best value in Crescent City. We have stayed many places over the years in this area and this place is our go to. Inexpensive, clean, quiet. Absolutely no frills, TV is basic , internet is somewhat reliable and furnishings are functional. There is some history behind the lodge which makes it somewhat more interesting then the other locations on the 101. Service/cleanliness has been consistent in the 5 times that we have stayed there which is appreciated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyNMountainPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burt, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Curly Redwood Lodge had great character. The staff was friendly, the location was great, the atmosphere and decor was very cool and the room was nice and clean. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the pillows were rather thin, however. Overall it was charming and the restaurant across the street was yummy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

In Crescent City, I encountered the most ignorant, offensive person I've ever met in the hotel industry, and he was the reception clerk at the motel we had just booked into - 'Curly's Motel'. When I told him that the wifi wasn't working in my room, I received a tirade of abuse in which he refused to believe there was a problem and accused me of calling him a liar when I insisted there was. He even said "If I had a dime for every customer who had said the same as you..." basically confirming there WAS a problem with their network. The owner appeared and was much more polite but still insisted that the issue lay with my netbook. Mainly because of the rudeness, my friend and I asked for a refund and left for another nearby motel, the Super 8 where the wifi worked perfectly. Curly Redwood Lodge does not deserve to be patronised - DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crlodge701, Owner at Curly Redwood Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
When management brought a laptop out to show you that there was wireless reception, there is nothing else we can do. It is not our responsibility to fix a guest laptop, tablet or any other wireless device. It was clearly working for us on more than one device. You received a refund and went elsewhere, EVERYONE WAS HAPPY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was a great place. Clean neat and a slice out of the past. The redwoods paneling is terrific, and the room is clean. There isn't much to this place. No frills, but its cheap, very clean and comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the building is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been well maintained. The interior redwood walls and door have been refinished nicely, and the walls were freshly painted. We had a double queen room, which was quite large, but the bathroom and shower are small, like a European bathroom. The room did not have a refrigerator.

There is no continental breakfast provided, but the room was very attractively priced. For breakfast, walk across the street to a restaurant for a good breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel is u shaped, so the end rooms are near the road. Request a room near the office which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Property: Curly Redwood Lodge
Address: 701 Redwood Highway S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing