We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50's retro in the best way”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curly Redwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for three nights to visit the redwood parks. Terrific stay! The rooms are quite large - a couple with children really could stay here and not be tripping over each other. The furniture and decor are all very 50's (and by that I mean "well-maintained and restored" type of 50's, not "Aunt Vi really needs to re-do the kitchen") - I loved it! The staff were friendly on check-in and very helpful with our questions about the area, restaurants, etc. Not much of a view, but that's the case for most places here.

Other Good
- Despite being on the 101, it was very quiet.
- About a 5 minute walk to Good Harvest and Northwood restaurants; a couple fish places and the wharf are across the road.
- Free coffee in the lobby.
- Covered parking in front of each unit (ground floor - I believe parking for the second floor is in the back).
- Did I mention I loved the decor? The chairs, tables, lamps, cool colors - swell, gimme a martini!

Less Good
- Scratchy towels
- The only mirror is in the bathroom (staff told us the original redwood-framed room mirrors mostly disappeared over the years :-( Why do people do this?)

Ugly
- Ok, the bedspreads are more 70's reject than 50's cool. Burn them now.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent three nights here so we could spend time in the parks. Accommodations were charming, nothing special, not a five star,but prices were reasonable. Staff was very friendly and helpful with area information. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and tidy. History of lodge is unique. No real views of the harbor though. Quiet and clean. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank BRahlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a special two nights we had staying at the Curly Redwood Lodge. So unique. So different from your average Hotel Chain. The lodge has its very own history about being made from one redwood tree, and it has it's own ambiance and warmth. Very friendly staff & owners who answered questions about where to go site see and where to go eat. Very clean. Very simple. We came to visit the Redwoods and the Coast. We were not looking for a 5 star lodge. We were looking for a visit to remember and we found it at the Curly Redwood Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuck1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This was a last second stay on my stop through crescent city. Did a roadtrip from seattle to san francisco and this was by far my favorite hotel of all even without the continental breakfast...heck maybe best hotel period for the value and ambience alone. The receptionist and lobby were so warm and welcoming and shared with me the story of the owner who built the lodge with one redwod tree as if I was their grandson. The room was meticulously clean and very large and inviting. Made me wish I could have stayed longer. Ill definitely include crescent city on my future roadtrip out west and spend a couple nights at the warm and cozy curly lodge next time. Thanks for your hospitality and making this southern traveler from atlanta feel right at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewds84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This place was just plain fun to stay at. Just loved the deliberate retro feel. Honestly, it felt like going back in time when my parents drove us around the country or when some of the beach movies were made.
Very clean, good rate, friendly staff -- like totally cool, daddio.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLU141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We called late to see if they had availability and they did. We felt like we stepped back into time when we arrived. The receptionist was very accommodating and we could not believe how large the room was. Nice and clean and very retro-which was actually a fun change from the standard hotels we had been staying in. The hotel is very well maintained and the next morning we actually spoke with the owner (who had been working with the property since the 70s-but not the original owner) and talked about how much work involved in maintaining the curly redwood paneling. He was also very helpful in recommending some scenic drives through the forests. A unique find, a nice visit and we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0UNTAINGAL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with some friends and one of my friends was prego...they made it hard for her..no microwaves so she couldnt heat u her hot pack thing for her back so we went up to the office to use theres and they wouldnt let us because it would be a safety hazard..lol it was just a weird stay.
The rooms were okay but I wouldnt stay again,there is a lot better hotels in CC with more to offer.
The building is neat though because it is built out of one redwood tree!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
0.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
1.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#13 of 19 in Crescent City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curly Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curly Redwood Lodge

Address: 701 US Highway 101 S, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Crescent City
#5 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Price Range: $56 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from one curly redwood tree that produced 57,000 board feet of lumber! The clean, comfortable lodge is Northern California's most unique redwood lodge on America's Wild Rivers Coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Curly Redwood Hotel Crescent City
Curly Redwood Crescent City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing