We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and "Colorful!"”

Anna Wulf House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Wulf House B&B
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice and "Colorful!"”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this B and B. It was nice, clean and decor very interesting and colorful outside and inside the house. Mitzi the owner was just adorable. She was very informative about the area and fun to talk to. She was a very gracious hostess and cooked some great breakfasts! You did not go away hungry untill your evening meal! Our bed was one of the best ever! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wash, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a confirmed reservation to stay. Much to our surprise we received a call from the owner saying she had double booked our room and she was canceling our booking. This was just a few days before our arrival. The phone call came while we were in the middle of our trip! She gave an excuse about too many bookings and being confused. Her only offer of assistance was to give us the phone number of a nearby motel. The email with the phone number never arrived. Our experience was one of poor customer service and complete disorganization.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank netta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were met by Mitzi, who gave us a tour of the house, a glass of wine, and excellent conversation. We had the "Bridal Suite," which was interesting, considering we have been married for over 40 years! Very comfortable and quaint, with neat antique decor, which fit the theme of each room. Mitzi offered an idea for dinner, which was very good indeed. Looking forward to breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The reviews are spot on for this quaint bed and breakfast in Crescent City. Mitzi is a delight. We were the only guests that evening and she spoiled us. We had the Mistress Suite which is a fun--how do I say this--kind of "brothel" theme. My husband loved it! This was his first B&B experience, so I was thrilled he liked it. He's a down home hunter/fisher kind of guy, but enjoyed all the fun and historical things in the home. The bed was comfortable and we had the bathroom to ourselves. Yes, it's small; but we were there for one night and it was fine. Mitzi recommended the Charter House for our dinner plans and we loved it! We kept driving down 101 and found a nice spot for a beautiful Pacific sunset. Couldn't have been a more wonderful evening. This B&B is as well done outside as inside. It's easy to see why it's popular for small weddings and other events. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Paula (Mitzi's daughter), but we thoroughly enjoyed talking with Mitzi. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. You will not go hungry! I would definitely go back and high recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: The Mistress Suite and Mayor's Suite are themed rooms that share a bath. Mitzi does not rent ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifes2short4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the Mistress Suite and found the decor interesting and unique. Mitzi helpfully showed us around the house and also suggested where to go for dinner (the Charter House). She even kindly rang them for us to see what time they closed. The room was clean and spacious with plenty of room for bags and a closet to hang clothes in. The bathroom was across the corridor and on the small side, but it is an old house and although the bathroom is shared, Mitzi told us that they don't rent out the other room at the same time (unless it is a family). The guests also have use of a shared kitchen/dining area upstairs, which has more interesting relics. In the morning Mitzi made scrambled eggs and a great potato hash. There was plenty of fresh coffee and juice. Breakfast is served at 8.30 every morning, which was fine for us but I'm not sure how flexible it is if you need to leave earlier. The location is ideal for the Redwoods and the visitors centre.

On the negative side, whilst the bed was comfy-ish it only came with one pillow each; we could not get the tv to change channel (but to be fair we didn't say anything because we were quite happy to read); the bathroom was small; there were no extras such as tea, coffee, etc which tend to come as standard; we had to ring Mitzi when we arrived as she was not at the B&B and wait for her to arrive (fortunately we had a phone with us but it is an English phone so the call would have been more expensive than normal).

We would recommend Anna Wulf B&B and we would stay there again. It was very interesting but Mitzi is the real star of the show.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheOldMarrieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Although Crescent City is a lot less charming than it ought to be (given its seaside location and modest size), I would nevertheless wholeheartedly recommend the Anna Wulf House to anyone looking for a place to stay near the redwoods. (As for the redwoods, there is a park visitor center just a few blocks from the AWH at 1111 Second Street. It opens from 9 am; not sure about Sunday hours.)

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the welcoming but non-intrusive company of the proprietor, Mitzi, and her assistant, Tina. Even when they're not around, the common areas of the house feature a lot of eye-catching memorabilia and antiques to keep you interested. The rooms had TV for those drizzly Crescent City nights.

Although the building is over 100 years old, our queen-sized bed in the Mayor's Suite seemed new and was surprisingly comfortable. We don't normally share a bed of this size very well but we slept soundly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My partner and I only stayed for one night and we enjoyed our time at this property - and I'm usually not a huge fan of B&Bs. In addition to being friendly, the owner (Mitzi), was very accommodating when we requested a last minute change to our reservation. Lots of interesting antiques and furnishings. Although we didn't stay in the "Mistress" room, we wish we had - we loved the theme (we peeked our head into the room).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crescent City hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 18 in Crescent City
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Crescent City
Travelodge Crescent City
#10 of 18 in Crescent City
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Wulf House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Wulf House B&B

Property: Anna Wulf House B&B
Address: 622 J St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3818
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing