We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Putnam

“If you like Sushi, try 85 Main. ”
Review of 85 Main

85 Main
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Putnam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Chef and General Manager James Martin, along with brothers Barry and Brian Jessurun of The Vanilla Bean Café in Pomfret and Dog Lane Café in Storrs, opened 85 main in 2005. 85 main was created with goal of offering fresh, quality seafood and steaks along with locally grown produce in an atmosphere one might expect to find in a "big" city. The emphasis is on fresh ingredients and cooked-to-order menu items. The interior of the building was completely remodeled, creating a warm, inviting and casual dining environment. During the warmer months, the outdoor patio is open for dining.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Food is always tasty. Great sushi, oysters, soups, cocktails. Friendly bartenders. Wonderful atmosphere. The bar is very cool looking. Fantastic music in the background. I love it at 85 Main. You can’t go wrong eating or drinking here. My children love it too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank YesToTacosAnytime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2020

Its always excellent, If I splurge for oysters, about the best you can get this far from the ocean. You want a crab cake, it really is all crab! the salmon is always fresh, I wish I lived closer to Putnam. Oh the sushi is fresh, well the seafood is fresh. just a very good place. Yes, if you like a thick, creamy clam chowder, don't order th clam chowder. I prefer the spring/summer and eat outside, or eat at the bar!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kabumpous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Very good clam fritter starter, tangy and filling. Main course crab cake, good quality, could have done with a dressing.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank davidlD3200NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019

Lunch w/friends during the week took over 45 minutes for food to be delivered. Corn chowder w/clams was broth based not milky or creamy, much to the dismay of several who ordered it.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Hatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

We stopped on our way to Boston for a nice dinner and to avoid Boston traffic. It was a Monday evening so the restaurant was not busy. Service was fine. Their bread served before was warm and yummy. The have a nice wine list, and a solid beer list. Lots of cocktails though I don’t drink those. Food relatively fast. My chicken was tasty maybe a little salty. The steak my husband had as delicious but his mashed potatoes were cold.
I’d probably give it another try.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank PamR761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 85 Main also viewed

Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
 

Been to 85 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing