We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“burgers”
Review of 85 Main

85 Main
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Putnam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef and General Manager James Martin, along with brothers Barry and Brian Jessurun of The Vanilla Bean Café in Pomfret and Dog Lane Café in Storrs, opened 85 main in 2005. 85 main was created with goal of offering fresh, quality seafood and steaks along with locally grown produce in an atmosphere one might expect to find in a "big" city. The emphasis is on fresh ingredients and cooked-to-order menu items. The interior of the building was completely remodeled, creating a warm, inviting and casual dining environment. During the warmer months, the outdoor patio is open for dining.
connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“burgers”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

85 main has awesome burgers, all beef is local, no additives. Their cheese & cracker platter is also very good. At least 5 different cheeses and 3 types of crackers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamistilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    78
    28
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton,CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My friends & I ate lunch here. Our waiter, Patrick, gave EXCELLENT service. Upon seating us outside, he removed an unneeded chair so that he could move the umbrella to give us better shade as the sun moved. He was very attentive and made generous amends & apologies when the kitchen made a mistake. The food was good and very reasonably priced. Atmosphere outside was wonderful with a couple playing soft live music.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
Level Contributor
599 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,051 helpful votes
“Twelve days in Putnam, twelve lunches at "85 Main"”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Every year, we go to Putnam CT for two plus weeks to visit a close relative in a Nursing Home. Every year, we look forward to our lunches at "85 Main". Others tell us that there are other good restaurants here, but we love this one so much, why should we go elsewhere?

So, we were there for twelve days, and each day found us enjoying a delicious lunch. Since we live in the desert where almost all (except for Pacific Salmon, and Tilapia) seafood comes frozen, we really feast on the freshness of seafood when in New England. One day we strayed and had the Duck Egg Salad Sandwich, which was so good, that we were tempted to stray again. Mainly, we had the Fish and Chips (both Sea Bass and Halibut), the Calamari, the Mussels or the Steamers. Never tired of these dishes as they were so good. Fish and Chips comes with the most delicious French Fries. Everything arrives to the table hot, straight from the kitchen. The presentation is most appetizing, and the service very personable and friendly.

Four of the times, we invited East Coast friends to join us (one even drove up from New Jersey!) and all of them raved about the food here. We were fortunate to have lovely weather for most of our stay, and so were able to eat outside on the lovely patio under the trees. So delightful ! The few times we did eat inside, we were able to have our favorite table in the corner. They serve excellent coffee, and their tap beer comes in lovely glasses. WE JUST LOVE THIS PLACE !

The day four friends drove up to join us, we had Taylor as our server. There were six of us, who had not seen each other in a year. So, naturally, everyone was all over the place; some were looking at the menu, some chatting, some walking around inspecting the restaurant, some going back to the car to retrieve a forgotten camera, some pulling out stuff for show and tell. We tried to get everyone settled, so that we could have lunch. Taylor was so politely patient and sweet. During our lunch, she checked up on us without any intrusion or interruption. It's no easy task with a group like that, yet she did it beautifully. She, definitely, is the perfect waitress, and we would have loved to bring her to Tucson to open a school to teach proper waitressing.

We are back in Tucson now, and already thinking about next year, and all that good food at "85 Main".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in a sleepy town”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Congrats on a great restaurant in a corner of Connecticut that one wouldn't expect such good food and service. Terrific oysters to start, well described, shucked and served. We took a chance on the head cheese, and though it was different than anticipated, it was delicious and a good size sharing appetizer. The Steph's Rickey was a nice cocktail. And the entrees were all great.
Staff seemed liked they would be young an inexperienced, but from describing the food and the ingredients, to recognizing we wanted to take our time, they were perfect. thanks for a great meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Whenever I think of going out, this is where I go.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the place for whatever you feel like doing. In this one resturant you can find all that you want in a dining experience. Want to feel special, eat in the dining room. Want to socialize with friends? The bar area is for you. In either place you get, great service and great food. For a fun happy hour try going there on a a Wednesday from 4-6. $1.00 fresh oysters along with a special happy hour menu. The bartenders, Steph and Justin keep your glasses full and make you feel as if you are the only one they have to take care of. Their sushi selections are always fresh and pleasing to look at, It is also the perfect place to go for a late night drink or snack. For me, this place fulfills my every dining need. I would be remiss not to mention James Martin, owner and chef,who is responsible for the menu that keeps people coming back for more. I should also mention that James is the first to respond to a community need and is generous to a fault.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 85 Main also viewed

Putnam, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 

Been to 85 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing