We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coop's”
Review of J D Coopers Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
J D Coopers Restaurant
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coop's”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice selection of draft beer, food is just ok. Atmosphere is nice. Service seems a little slow. close to the comfort inn.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haigh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

From the moment we pulled into JD Coopers it was clear that time had stopped. Knowing my parents used to join their siblings for dinner took it from dated to memorable. Multiple bars and dinning areas can make it a challenge to find people you are meeting. Staff was professional and pleasant so no complaints. Food was well received but nothing unique. As my wife said with her seafood combo, broccoli on the side is definitely old school. Good but not great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strike Two”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Last week I ordered the spinach salad with warm bacon dressing and it was very poorly put together. Looked like someone threw some onions and feta cheese on the bottom of a takeout container and covered it with spinach. The warm bacon dressing was bad, smelled horrible. Didn't learn my lesson. this week I ordered a dozen wings to takeout for lunch. Got back to work, started eating the wings and noticed they were not cooked. Ugh, raw chicken. I am done with them. I do have a suggestion, if they are going to add to their chicken wing section on the menu, they need to add one called "colon blow."
Was sick for about 24 hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SMR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawamkeag, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Plenty of food and drinks and beer on tap”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I only ate in the restaurant a couple of times we usually had dinner in the sports bar which was always packed and food was very good and portions usually quite large. The bar drinks were average price and not watered down like some places, we usually stayed to watch a game or shoot some pool also so all around not to bad a place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fireeater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camper46
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad attitude”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you like food with titude with a side of rude this is the place for you!!! I went in to this restaurant for dinner. I went to the hostess station and waited. After 5 minutes of waiting with no one to seat, I went into the restaurant, for help. I was greeted with a rude "we’ll be with you in a minute!!!!" From a waitress!! Taking the hint, I walked out!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank camper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J D Coopers Restaurant also viewed

Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing