We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stop Summer Tradition...........”

Deary Brothers Mike's Stand
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Putnam
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maine
Level Contributor
300 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Must Stop Summer Tradition...........”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This a an awesome place, Mike's Stand is a diamond in the rough, every time I am in Putnam, this is a MUST stop for me. In the summer months this is the place to be! It is always busy, but so worth the wait! Love their clams, burgers, and their seafood salad is out of this world. Peter and Mike are just the friendliest down to earth people you will ever meet. Going there to see them is half the pleasure of this experience. The staff there is always polite, and very friendly as well. You just feel like everyone is really happy to see you each time you show up. If you go once you will see why so many people continue to return, year after year after year, since they have been around forever....over 75 years and still going strong :)

Also a shout out to Noel Watson at TripAdvisor.......... congrats on your promotion!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Putnam's Best Summer Tradition”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

No trip to Northeast CT is complete without several visits to Mike's Stand during the summer months. The seafood is always outstanding. It's my first stop whenever I get into Putnam. Got to have those clam cakes and whole belly fried clams. It also has very good quality burgers, hot dogs, and of course, lobster salad rolls. And don't forget to save some room for the ice cream. Mike's has flavors that aren't found everywhere (orange pineapple, frozen pudding, etc.) The service staff is always friendly and everyone is treated like family. I know I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ger2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's Summer !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mike's Stand has been a Putnam tradition for years. You know Summer is here. The staff is always smiling and are always ready to serve you. Be prepared because there is always a line but it is well worth the wait. They have an extensive menu so I'm sure there will be something that you will enjoy. There seafood is the freshest and there fried clams are and always have been to die for. After your meal don't forget to try their delicious ice cream. This is a place where friends gather and new friends are made. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orioles1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A summer tradition”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's 1957 and Elvis is on the radio. This place has been here forever serving the best ice cream, hot dogs and burgers to the summer folk. There WILL be a line. The only thing missing is the carhops on roller skates. This is a seasonal gem. When it opens, summer has finally arrived.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great ice cream and seafood”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I read an article in the paper that Deary Brothers Mike's stand was celebrating 75 years this summer. I tried it first for ice cream and then for fried seafood. What a great find! The food is great. The wait staff is friendly. My husband and I actually drive down from Charlton. We enjoy eating our food at the picnic tables. There is still 1 week left until they close for the season next Sunday on the 23rd.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deary Brothers Mike's Stand also viewed

Putnam, Mystic Country
 
Putnam, Mystic Country
Putnam, Mystic Country
 

Been to Deary Brothers Mike's Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing