We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Respite in a Hot Belt of View”

Pua Mau Place Arboretum & Botanical Garden
Ranked #13 of 15 things to do in Kawaihae
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lush botanical garden on Big Island.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Respite in a Hot Belt of View”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was so surprised to find that carved into a hot, dry edge of the Kohala Mountains was such a lovely garden! The meandering paths were a joy and while the morning was hot, there was plenty of shade and view for which to be grateful. I sat for quite a while with the peacocks who'd dropped scads of feathers like spring blooms from a tree -- every bit as lovely as the flora in the garden. How they can maintain such a space when water and weather isn't in its favor I don't know, but I'm so glad they do. I'm planning an event there soon, too, I enjoyed it so much. A great place to see the whale spouts, I'm quite sure, as well!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not worth the money or the effort to get there. At $15 it was about $14 too expensive. We were totally underwhelmed by our experience there and wouldn't recommend it to others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice little botanical garden, and the lady who runs it is very dedicated. But it's rather expensive for a one-hour walk around the flora.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wotan10950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pua Mau Botantical Garden”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beautiful place to walk around. They even have a little picnic area near the recreational center that overlooks kohala coast. There is a beautfiul intimate spot between shaded trees where people can hold wedding ceremonies etc. Different types of tropical flora. I would not recommend for people that may be allergic to Bees considering there are a lot of bees buzzing around from the flowers. Large statues of insects allow for fun photo ops. Don't forget to wear a hat and sun screen and be mindful of the peacock farm ( they can be kind of testy).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Green Oasis and some surprises”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The Kohala coast on the Big Island is dry and not an easy environment to grow such an abundant and healthy variety of Hawaiian and other plants with fragrant flowers and vibrant colors! Visitors and locals would learn a lot about plants, since the varieties are well marked. My husband especially is interested in growing greenery, so it was an enjoyable experience to walk around the extensive gardens of over 12 acres. The trails are well marked, with surprises along the way especially for kids. The inspiration for the garden came from a pharmaceutical inventor named Dr. Virgil Place, who must have put a great deal of effort into this oasis in the middle of lava. We found it easily. When you drive on the coast from Kawaihae on HWY 270, turn right at the 6 mile marker and go half a mile up the hill.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaWaikoloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pua Mau Place Arboretum & Botanical Garden also viewed

 
Puako, Kohala Coast
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pua Mau Place Arboretum & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing