We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ono!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Pesto

Cafe Pesto
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Pesto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Akoni Pule Hwy
Description: "The best of Hawaii's hidden treasures," claim food critics and locals alike. The menu features fresh local seafood, exotic pizzas, colorful eclectic salads and Asian inspired pastas and risottos. The harbor settings, rich in Hawai'ian history, provide a backdrop of authenticity and charm to the award-winning restaurant. Visit the stone temple Heiau of Kawaihae harbor to view the ancient shark deities on their sunset vigils.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ono!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Yummy food with flavor to delight the tastebuds!!! Lilikoi Cheesecake is out of this world delicious!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silverbullet1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    335
    98
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Almost didn't pick this restaurant based on some of the negative reviews. The food was terrific-creative, fresh ingredients, and beautifully presented. I had cream of mushroom soup, garden salad and linguine with a pesto/marinara sauce and chicken sausage that tasted equally good the next day for lunch. Would definitely return. The service was good and although the restaurant was busy, the noise level was not a problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drifting149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over cooked fish”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The crabcakes is the best thing we had. The Ono had no taste & garlic mash no garlic. No sauce on dry over cooked fish! Soo bad. Don't waste your $, over priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jotanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, though a little pretentious”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was good, portions small, the atmosphere a little pretentious. We were seated next to a family with a screaming infant. The waiter never offered to move us to another table or offer, say, a free dessert as recompense. (My children were once infants too, and we never subjected fellow diners to that kind of treatment).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wotan10950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent fare as always”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had to rate CP five stars. My lunch was just too good to boot. This was my second dining experience at CP in five years. Nothing has really changed. Still the same great place! Tried the cream of potato/roasted bell pepper soup topped off with some blue crab. It was out of this world delish. Not salty, but fresh and light. For my main, I opted for the heavenly fresh catch sandwich with beefsteak tomato, lettuce, fried onion strings and pesto aioli. Oh, and for a side, absolutely loved the super tasty, purple potato salad. No room for dessert. Sorry. I wish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACarlsbadkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing