We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Values at Happy Hour”

The Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding Values at Happy Hour”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The small plates are a great value anytime - the calamari and coconut shrimp were our favorites. We also had the early dinner special which was also a good value with fresh fish. The happy hour Mai Tais are excellent. There are no views but who cares - it is OK for the price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    223
    75
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dependably good food...”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Usually our 1st stop when we get off the plane for our annual Big Island trip. The Ahi sashimi is always fresh, they gave decent oysters and the fresh fish is excellent. Our friends raved about the chicken sandwich. The happy hour Mai Tais are a bargain. See you soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heaterxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
402 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Seafood - Good Value for Money”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We both ordered seafood specials and were very pleased with our food. We shared an appetizer and dessert and both had mai tais and coffee. The whole meal for two cost less than $100 which is very good for Hawaii. The waitress was very friendly and efficient. We sat outside and watched what we could of the ocean. Unfortunately, the restaurant has a restricted view but it was still very pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food was very good”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Food was very good. Coffee icecream dessert outstanding. Location is not very good. View of tankers but food was very good. My son loved the escargot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grecojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic food for great price”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

food was great, excellently prepared, for great price in comparision to hotels in Waikoloa Village. Really friendly staff. Nice outdoor balcony but view is not that good (into sandpits) but we were there for dinner not for view.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viktor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing