We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Burgers!”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Local beef, variety of choices, easy grab and go food. Just north of the resorts in the little harbor town of Kawaihae harbor.

Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha and Thank you very much! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We look forward to serving you again.
KBAT Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great stop for a quick bite and good prices. The staff was friendly and service was fast. We love a good burger and these hit the spot! The slaw was also really tasty (and I always say I don’t like coleslaw!).

Thank Colette1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha and Thank you very much! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We look forward to serving you again.
KBAT Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Got tired of paying high prices at the resort so I decided to venture out of the gates to this place. It was pretty darn good if you like simple. Burgers looked great. I ordered a fish sandwich which was good. Also had the coleslaw and the onion rings and fries looked fabulous. Indoor seating and food to go. It was open until about 8pm so get the before then.

Thank Kelsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha and Thank you for taking the time to post a review, based on your feedback, it inspires us to work even harder to earn that last star.
KBAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kohala Burger was highly recommended by local staff at the Fairmont however we didn't find the glorious burger that we had expected. The staff was very friendly and it was a good basket of food, but the meat did not seem to be pure beef. Perhaps they mix it with something to get a different taste/texture. You should ask. It is a good stop if you are in Kawaihae.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha, We appreciate your business and your comments. Your feedback will help us to improve the experience for future guests.
KBAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delicious burgers and tacos (hooray for taco Tuesday!!) and the pineapple whip is amazing & like nothing else. Prices are reasonable- everything in Hawaii is expensive. The new format with the sit down side versus the express/online side was a bit confusing at first but the super friendly staff have your back. Do not leave without trying the pineapple whip!!!

Thank B4Travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha and Thank you very much! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We look forward to serving you again.
KBAT Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;