We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These people are great”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“These people are great”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

These people know great food and hospitality. Eat here often. Great fish tacos. The fish sliders and pork taquitos were amazing. Everything fresh. Amazing flavors. Most importantly eat here to reward the incredible owners for spectacular hospitality and a willingness to be helpful. They use fresh ingredients, make their own stuff, and I would rather eat here or takeout than any other place in this little oceanside burg. They bend over backwards and have great food. Great kids menu as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fpk932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Mahalo for posting this awesome review. It is so fantastic to be recognized for the little things we do. We appreciate your business and the time you took to post this review. Keiki's Love the mini burger and fries we make, not to mention the Free Dole Pineapple Whip :)
Aloha,
Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    147
    24
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holy delicious!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Little size, big taste!!!
Island fish tacos, kalua pork tacos, coleslaw...all fantastic!
Save room for the pineapple shake, it might just change your life!

Helpful?
Thank AreeSeraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Wow! Flattery may get you everywhere. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Fresh Fish Tacos, "Famous" Chipotle Coleslaw" and Authentic Dole Pineapple Soft Serve. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place for lunch!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Swordfish tacos are fresh, delicious and messy - need lots of napkins but that's OK! Hubby had the swordfish burger and his was equally good. Fish and chips good, too. Overall, a great little joint for lunch. Downside - it's small and crowded, you'll have to probably share a table if you go at lunch. Upside is you will meet new people and it's got a cozy, laid back vibe. Counter service but food is delivered to your table. Pretty good value and just the place to hit after a morning of scuba diving - we will definitely be back and must try the burgers after hearing all the rave reviews!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caliintrepidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Looks like you found out what our slogan is all about...."Small Place...Big Island Taste". The KBAT Crew is so pleased that we could become a memorable part of your vacation. Visit again soon, we look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
“BURGERS WILL BLOW YOUR MIND”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Holy cow, I don't even know where to start. My boyfriend and I ordered the Hula and Mushroom burgers and they BLEW OUR MINDS. The ingredients tasted ultra fresh, the cheese was awesome, and it wasn't greasy! Best burgers on Hawi'i for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank cmdeskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Much Aloha!!! We can only say AWESOME!! Thank you for your review, we are so very pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Burger EVER!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am now forever spoiled by this one perfect burger....such attention to getting every element right made this a memorable meal on a bun. I resisted ordering fries and ended up eating half of my hubby's. They too were perfect! Others in our group raved about the fish tacos and the grilled swordfish sandwich. Nice job Kohala Burger and Taco!
We hope to visit again sometime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Best Burger ever?!?! You make us blush. We're just a humble hamburger hovel that tries to do the freshest, most flavorful burger everyday. So happy your were delighted, and even happier to hear that your firends lived the fish sandwich and tacos! Mahalo for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing