We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place for lunch!”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place for lunch!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Swordfish tacos are fresh, delicious and messy - need lots of napkins but that's OK! Hubby had the swordfish burger and his was equally good. Fish and chips good, too. Overall, a great little joint for lunch. Downside - it's small and crowded, you'll have to probably share a table if you go at lunch. Upside is you will meet new people and it's got a cozy, laid back vibe. Counter service but food is delivered to your table. Pretty good value and just the place to hit after a morning of scuba diving - we will definitely be back and must try the burgers after hearing all the rave reviews!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caliintrepidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Aloha, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Looks like you found out what our slogan is all about...."Small Place...Big Island Taste". The KBAT Crew is so pleased that we could become a memorable part of your vacation. Visit again soon, we look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    24
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
“BURGERS WILL BLOW YOUR MIND”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Holy cow, I don't even know where to start. My boyfriend and I ordered the Hula and Mushroom burgers and they BLEW OUR MINDS. The ingredients tasted ultra fresh, the cheese was awesome, and it wasn't greasy! Best burgers on Hawi'i for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank cmdeskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Much Aloha!!! We can only say AWESOME!! Thank you for your review, we are so very pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Burger EVER!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am now forever spoiled by this one perfect burger....such attention to getting every element right made this a memorable meal on a bun. I resisted ordering fries and ended up eating half of my hubby's. They too were perfect! Others in our group raved about the fish tacos and the grilled swordfish sandwich. Nice job Kohala Burger and Taco!
We hope to visit again sometime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Best Burger ever?!?! You make us blush. We're just a humble hamburger hovel that tries to do the freshest, most flavorful burger everyday. So happy your were delighted, and even happier to hear that your firends lived the fish sandwich and tacos! Mahalo for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this little gem!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There are just 4 tables but don't let the size of the space fool you. Great place to stop for a to go meal or eat in if there is room. We had a burger - excellent on toasted bun and swordfish taco bowl- also excellent. Good value for the price. Go upstairs to find this spot in Kawaihae Shopping Center.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Mahalo nui for taking the time to share your experience! We love hearing that you enjoyed our food. We try to be creative, flavorful and fresh everyday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service and delicious fresh food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was recently on the Big Island for a month and this was my "go to" place to eat. Great burgers, fries and the best fish tacos I have ever eaten. And the Dole Pineapple Whip was a delicious, cool treat. And the people there are super friendly. Its a tiny place with a few tables but I was always able to get a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Mahalo for being a "regular" while you were here on the Big island! WE enjoy hearing your comments and are delighted that you had more than one favorite menu item during your stay! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing