We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a bacon cheeseburger and the crispy chicken tacos, both were delicious. We took our meals and went right over the Spencer Beach park and it was perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 488caitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Glad to hear that you stopped by for an "ocean view" take-out order to enjoy at Spencer Beach. Our small "hole-in-the-wall" eatery gets quite crowded during lunch, so since the beach is just a couple of turns away, it's the perfect spot to enjoy the sound of the crashing surf along with your KBAT goodies! Mahalo for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 432 of 530 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Found this little cafe by email. Very tiny. Very friendly staff! I had the Baja tacos, my husband had a cheeseburger, onion rings and chocolate shake! Delicious! Don't let the strip mall location from stopping! There were lines out the door when we left. Only about 4-5 tables so maybe getting there early is best!

Thank pcseward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

So glad to hear that your email seach ended up in hamburger happiness! We take pride in providing the freshest beef, fish and Big Island ingredients. Mahalo for coming by and posting your flattering thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just happened upon this place, my husband though fish tacos sounded good for lunch and then we saw the sign advertising fish tacos and thought lets give it a try. WOW!! We both ordered the Island Style Fish Tacos. They were delicious. We also had a chocolate coconut shake YUMMY! After reading other reviews we are planning on going back to try the burgers. Great little hidden spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MFamilyUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

It thrills us to hear that your day of exploring the Kohala coast ends in fantastic fish tacos! Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your Hawaii vacation memories and taking the time to post your thoughts :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

With my family of picky eaters we were delighted to find a great burger and taco joint (with great soft-serve ice cream as well) nearby our hotel. For a real deal we fed the four pickiest - and had a lot of share with the rest of our large party that was dining on seafood. The owners were sweet and even offered touring advice. Highly recommend, will return before the vacation ends. Very few deals on this island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjjBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

So glad to hear that we helped with your "picky eater" problems. Mahalo for taking the time to post your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The whole group had tacos, I had the pork taco platter and they were simply delicious, I had them with fries and the fries were super hot, just like you should always get them. My parents had the fish tacos and they are still talking about them. This is a great place to get away from the resorts and it is not that far from waikoloa resorts and the prices are cheaper and the food is much better. You don't want to miss out on this one.

Thank Hoodone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Glad to hear that your "KBAT" experience was memorable! We love being a part of your cherished Hawaii vacation memories! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon or as they say in Hawaii..a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing