We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tacos”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tacos”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The whole group had tacos, I had the pork taco platter and they were simply delicious, I had them with fries and the fries were super hot, just like you should always get them. My parents had the fish tacos and they are still talking about them. This is a great place to get away from the resorts and it is not that far from waikoloa resorts and the prices are cheaper and the food is much better. You don't want to miss out on this one.

Helpful?
Thank Hoodone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Glad to hear that your "KBAT" experience was memorable! We love being a part of your cherished Hawaii vacation memories! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon or as they say in Hawaii..a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    24
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a good burger. When asking around, everyone said Kohala Burgers. They did not disappoint. There was so much flavor in the burger, best I've had in a long time. The onion rings were the perfect compliment.

Helpful?
Thank Nhodges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to post! Your kind words are very much appreciated! Glad you had the time to come to the Big Island from O'ahu for a visit! A hui hou kakou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tiny place with excellent burgers”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

First impression is that this place is tiny, with a row of tables on one side of the walkway and a bar and stools on the other. It's got an incredibly nice atmosphere which is laid back and relaxing. We just went for burgers and fries and they were great after a long day. Staff was very friendly and seemed to like working there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Mahalo goes to sgphoto for a lovely review! We stay happy by keeping our customers happy at our cozy Big Island burger spot. We also encourge folks to call ahead for take-out. Nearby Spencer Beach has a bevy of picnic tables. Nothing like a yummy burger or taco with an ocean view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food-Great service!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Definitely a hidden gem! We stopped here on our way back from touring around Hawi, and we were very happy that we did. The guy taking our order was very friendly, very patient (we let our 2 smaill kids order on their own), and very helpful. The burgers and fries were fresh and it was all very good. They have a full menu of burgers and tacos, and have a little something for everyone. The burgers were huge as well! So if you are touring around the north and need a great spot to stop for lunch or dinner, this place is definitely worth the visit! We will definitely be back on our next trip to the BI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottMoe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Glad you took the time to stop by for a roadside meal with us! Thanks even more for taking the time to post such accolades! Many Big Island visitors like our new friend ScottMoe66 Dawson of Creek, Canada discover our little burger spot after a scenic and enjoyable drive through the Kohala Mountains, Hawi, Kapaau and Pololu Valley in North Kohala on the Big Island. Wehave clean restrooms, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Generous portions, great flavors!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We both tried items on the daily special menu. My husband got the spearfish burrito, and I ordered the island tacos. Yum! great combination of flavors for both dishes. the burrito was well stuffed and my tacos were full of fish, fresh coleslaw, avocado sauce. Their house taco sauce is also really good, I'd give it a medium for spiciness. We were quite full when we left.

Service was friendly, fast, prices for the main dishes reasonable for HI. But, if you're on a tight travel budget beware of the extras, they add up quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2flyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Mahalo for visiting us and for your insightful review! We enjoy knowing customers leave happy and satisfied.For those looking to keep their costs in check will be happy to know that we offer discounts via our Facebook page, by signing up with our loyalty program at the restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing