We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome!”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great fresh food (largely sustainable) served at a great price. We discovered it the day before leaving or we would have been back for lunch again and again. Service was pleasant and fast. The ono tacos and kailua pork tacos were both really good with fresh ingredients and really bright flavors. Kudos to Kohala burger and taco for a great meal at a great price. We'll be back the next time we're on the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

So glad you came by! Even happier you enjoyed it! Mahalo nui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Kohala Burger and Taco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 515 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Tiny little place with delicious food - I had a burger (locally grown grass fed beef) with pineapple on it and fries - so tasty! Hubby had a platter with 3 baja fish tacos. Taco's had a very tasty slaw topping and were the best fish tacos of our trip! Will definitely be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We're glad to hear that our version of "surf" and "turf" has delighted you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Two of us stopped by around 2:00, Thurs. afternoon. Only one table was occupied in the small seating area. By the time we left, most were occupied, so might be wise to anticipate a wait if you're coming at traditional heavy, mealtime hours. The counter and kitchen staff couldn't have been more friendly, or more helpful to first-timers (like us). We had two combos (burger, soda, and fries/onion rings). A cheese substitution was readily accepted. The burgers were nicely cooked (medium rare) and assembled, the fries and onion rings arrived hot, crisp, and non-greasy. A reasonably priced find, just minutes drive north of the pricey resort-area establishments. We'll be back!

1  Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNLhulagirl, Marketing Assistant at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We are so glad you found us! Mahalo for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I called my order in from Puako and it was ready when I got there. Lovely burger. Local meat. Other folks say the prices are high. Compared with mainland places, it is high, but Hawaii is a remote island and lots of things cost more. I noticed gas prices were way more there than at home in Kansas City. But back to the food, the toppings were fresh and good. The chipotle cole slaw was very good. I liked this shop and would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KonaBoatRentals, Public Relations Manager at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Mahalo for your patronage from Puako!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped by Kohala Burger and Taco in Kawaihae on a trip around the north shore of the Big Island of Hawaii. Small place with just a few tables. The burgers were freshly prepared. Luckily we had a Living Social coupon for half off. That made the deal worthwhile. My wife had a jalapeno burger but you could hardly taste the jalapeno. I had a double burger with onion rings. They use local beef and that's a plus. But at full price, it's expensive. But buy the Living Social and it's a good deal. I will go back to try the tacos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank heybrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary P, Owner at Kohala Burger and Taco, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Mahalo for stopping by! Glad you had a chance to participate in the Living social promotion! We routinely offer specials and discounts throughout the year. Ask to join our loyalty program for added value and discounts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing