We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Kohala Burger and Taco
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located just a short distance from the glorious white sand beaches of the Kohala Coast, Kohala Burger and Taco is an affordable and friendly spot with a feel good, nostalgic flair. We serve 100% local grass fed beef and fresh, sustainably caught fish in burgers and tasty tacos. Daily specials, Milk Shakes and kids meals, too! Stop in for an Authentic Dole Pineapple Whip! This tasty Soft Serve Treat was once only available at Disney Parks and at the Dole Plantation on Oahu. KBAT has got it!
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great little hole in the wall resturant in Kawaihae! Family had the burgers and all three of them said they were fantastic. I had the island style fish tacos and they were most likley the best fish tacos that I had on our 10 day two island trip to hawaii. Do yourself a favor and get away from the mega expensive resort food & come here for lunch!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofaman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    140
    21
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Bargin”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Tired of those $20 hanburgers? Here is a place where reality reigns. This little hole in the wall place in a strip mall has great burgers and tacos at a reasonable price. My wife had the fish tacos and I had the burger with drinks, $23.77. It is self serve and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Tacos”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We drove up here from one of the Kohala Coast resorts, which have good food (at exorbitant prices). The two of us each had tacos: my wife had a fresh mahi taco (normally you get two, but they were happy to sell us one at half the standard price plus a buck) and I had the pork tacos. Generous portions as tacos go, and less than half the price of food we didn't enjoy quite as much at our hotel!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

What looks like a local dive, with a line out the door waiting to be seated... how could you possibly go wrong.

This probably ended up being one of our most enjoyable meals on our trip to the big island. After spending the day on a glass bottom boat trip and roaming around Kona we decided to head up north and try to find this place for a late lunch.

There was a waiting list to be seated, so I suggested that we order it to go and head over to Spencer Beach Park to eat. Our youngest had a burger (her only regret was that it wasn't bigger), while the rest of us had fish tacos (plus and order of the pork tacos). The food was as good as anything we had eaten at much more expensive places, while probably being our least expensive meal out on the trip.

I would highly recommend the trip north and a stop here for a terrific meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bucketfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and best milkshake ever!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I just ate at kohala burger and taco and was amazed. The bacon cheeseburger was delicious and the Oreo milkshake was to die for. This is the place to go if you are anywhere on the west side of the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick23north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohala Burger and Taco also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kohala Burger and Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing