We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium

Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 19
Description: Recently voted Best Dining Atmosphere, Family Entertainment, Bartender, Live Music and Night Spot by West Hawaii Today. Our fresh, festive food features global, coastal flavors and offers the freshest of ingredients, from locally caught fish to produce from our own organic farm. We proudly offer vegetarian, vegan, and/or gluten free options as well as locally raised meat and the freshest of seafood! Our young and talented chef team sincerely loves to create the most amazing dishes with the finest local and seasonal products available. We feature live music nightly (when we are open for dinner Thursdays through Sundays) and offer the best talent and a wide array of musical styles. If the music moves you, get up and dance right under the stars as our dining area has no roof!
Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
371 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is really cool. It used to be the Purple Dragon which was just ok. A few years ago it was bought by a new owner and totally redone. The music is live and fantastic. The food is the best. The inside is open to the sky. Many locals and tourists alike come here. You will see young and old people here having a great time eating, drinking and dancing. It is a very fun place. I highly recommend coming here. You will need a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    125
    35
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for the food, stay for the music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an absolute gem! Food was fantastic, service excellent and the music was amazing! Well worth finding even though it is off the beaten path.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

After spending an hour trying to decide where to have dinner, I decided on Plantation Grill. However when I drove by it was closed (maybe because it was Ironman day) so I happily ended up at Blue Dragon. I had the chef's special, pan seared fish topped with star fruit and over rice and veggies, and it was very good. I had been craving chocolate but the flourless chocolate cake didn't sound good. The waiter said it was his fave desert so I ended up getting it and loved it. From their gourmet ice creams I choose coconut to accompany the cake. The cake was rich and fudgey and the coconut was perfect with it. The waiter was very friendly and chatty, talking about when he free dives. The hostess came by to check on me as well. Everybody was friendly and happy and the live music was fun. I felt comfortable being there even though I was solo.

Helpful?
Thank Katfling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you are looking for great music, great food, and a good place to people watch then you will love the Blue Dragon! It's just a friendly neighbourhood place, and always make you want to come back for more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Couleebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“State Your Seating Preference IN ADVANCE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had been to the Dragon before and they have decent food and entertainment, but you have to let them know in advance that you want to be able to SEE the entertainment, or they will seat you out back, outside, in the "garden of insults." We didn't stick around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueDragonManager, Manager at Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha Carol,
Sorry to hear you didn't get seated in an area of your preference. It always does help to let us know when you make your reservation, and we do strive to get everyone seated where they'd like to be, by asking ask all of our phone reservations about their preference. A lot of people actually prefer the side patio, where it can be shadier and not as loud, especially those folks who are not here for the music so much as to enjoy our award winning Island Fusion cuisine and magically innovative cocktails. We hope you'll come back and try us out again on a future visit.
a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Blue Dragon Coastal Cuisine & Musiquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing