We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best acai bowls!”

Aloha Deli Ice Cream & Shave Ice
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Casual full service family restaurant and ice cream/shave ice shop. Open for breakfast and lunch Monday to Friday from 7:00am to 4:00pm and Saturday from 7:00am to 3:00pm. Serving continental, pacific rim, local, american, and other favorite cuisines. Featuring specialty favorites such as Blackened Ono Plate or Salad, Tropical Island Salads, Fish Taco, Kalua Pig & Cabbage, Homemade Veggie Burger,Teriyaki Beef or Chicken, BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich,Loco Moco Plates, and other popular dishes. Also specializing in local made ice cream, gelato, and sorbet by Tropical Dreams. We have indoor airconditioned seatings, Outdoor Seatings, and also take-out.
Oceanside
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best acai bowls!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Worth the one mile walk from the Fairmont Orchid for a healthy, less expensive breakfast. We are addicted to the acai bowls!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraDemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shave ice the way shave ice was meant to be”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you stop by the Aloha Deli for shave ice after a day of cruising the island or hitting the beach you will not be disappointed. A small place we stumbled on during our last visit and now it's a family tradition to stop for shave ice after Hapuna or Mauna Kea beach, everytime. You won't be disappointed by the great service and aloha feeling in this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious hole in the wall.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Amazing! We had the one, so delicious and juicy. The French toast were fluffy and sweet and the BBQ sandwich was so amazing with home made BBQ sauce. All reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charitysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“go for the lunch and stay for the ice cream”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

tiny place that has some of the best lunches we've had on the island. But save room for the best ice cream as well. My Blackened Ono plate was perfect and fresh. My husband's fish taco was also. Their menu changes based on fresh ingredients available. It is a small establishment so seating is very limited. Not fancy - very casual - and no view. Prices very reasonable. And again - some of the best food on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaMmmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The food and service here are excellent!
Everything is so fresh. Son had the tuna sandwich and said it was best ever. I had BLT and it was fresh. The shaved ice is delicious too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Deli Ice Cream & Shave Ice also viewed

 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aloha Deli Ice Cream & Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing