We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish on the island”
Review of Da Fish House

Da Fish House
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish on the island”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Friendly staff and super fresh fish! We purchased fresh fish to cook at our villa at the Mauna Kea. Wonderful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickyeater12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    31
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tacos were tasty!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We purchased some uber fresh Ono and mahi mahi at Da Fish House store and also tried the tacos and the fresh fish plate (battered) at the adjacent lunch truck. IF you can overlook the grimy patio chairs and tables, IF you can overlook the dilapidated wagon, and IF you can overlook the ants under the tables, you'll enjoy some very tasty tacos and delicious fresh fish. If you can't overlook the atmosphere, you might not enjoy it quite as much. This is not your hip and sleek San Francisco food truck -- it's quite a bit more rustic but overall the food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PPop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a Repeat!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

After reading the positive reviews, we couldn't resist finding and trying out this lunch wagon. The seafood was sensational. My wife had the fish tacos and I had the Caesar salad with seared ahi tuna. Both were so memorable that we agreed it had surpassed most every seafood restaurant we had ever eaten in. Of course, the value was remarkable as well. So I heartily agree with the many other positive reviews.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martiniman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Buy your fish here daily to cook yourself”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just about all the fish they sell was caught that morning and they run out quickly as it is a popular fish shop for the locals (so I am told). We did not have any of their prepared meals from the wagon but instead bought our fish there to take back to our condo to grill. It is a very convenient location if you are staying at one of the resorts such as Mauna Kea, Hapuna Prince, Mauna Lani as it is just down the road from there. I didn't think the fish here was any more expensive than any place else on the island. ALL food, fresh or prepared, is expensive in Hawaii. Which begs the question: If grouper is $20/lb LESS expensive in North Carolina (where it is caught) than it is in Colorado, why is the local fish you buy in Hawaii (where it is caught) MORE expensive than it is in Colorado?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaEvergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The local's local gem!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Its not likely you will find buried treasure on the the Big Island but with a little effort you will find Da Fish House lunch wagon. Regardless of the fish being served it is always incredibly fresh and the preparation is fantastic. Simplistic approach with the freshest ingredients served on a paper plate. The tacos featuring the fish of the day are amazing!!!! Bring a small ice cooler with you because you should really wander next door to the fresh fish counter and at the very least pick up a small container of the shoyu poke. wow!!!! Pound for pine my favorite place on the island... And it's a lunch wagon! Awesome!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schwafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Fish House also viewed

Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing