We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich in history for Jr Ranger Program”
Review of Pu'ukohola Heiau

Pu'ukohola Heiau
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Hawaii Island Experience
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stone temple built by King Kamehameha in 1719.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rich in history for Jr Ranger Program”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent close to 4 hours at this National Park - making lei's, stamping, watching videos and completing a pretty tough Junior Ranger Booklet that focused on the life of King Kamehameha I. We found out the WAVE program was available, and took a free sail in the double hull outrigger with a captain who told us stories about Hawaii. You cannot go into the Heiau (unless you are native Hawaiian) so you can stroll down to the beach area (the boards say not to swim in the water, but we saw the boat captain's kids swimming). The rangers at this National Park were especially friendly with the kids - a big thank you to Ranger George.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAMomOfTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

but not much to do. Took us half hour tops to take some photos and walk around the info center. There is a beach but was fairly busy and we didn't go down to check it out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice cultural spot on Hawaii”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This old tempel site was very interesting. We really liked beeing there and seeking the holy place of long forgotten times.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of history at visitor center”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The amount of stone hauled to make this fortress is amazing. Even more impressive is the visitor center which has compressed a great deal of Hawaiian history into a comparatively small space. I enjoyed this center more than touring the actual site.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jim985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Hawaiian history with great views”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is an important spot in Hawaiian history and culture, and the visitor's center does a good job of providing perspective into it. There are several trails to walk, but it's a hot, dry part of the island with almost no shade, so we didn't walk very far. As others have noted, you cannot walk all the way to the Heiau, but you can still get an idea of its size and significance. The views from here down to the coast and Kawaihae harbor are also nice.

In addition to the interpretative displays, there is a very well-stocked gift shop and nice, clean restrooms.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pu'ukohola Heiau also viewed

 

Been to Pu'ukohola Heiau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing