We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pu'ukohola Heiau

Pu'ukohola Heiau
Book In Advance
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Hawaii Island Experience
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stone temple built by King Kamehameha in 1719.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
276 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We didn't have enough time to do this place justice (so much to see on the Island) but enjoyed reading about the history and having a look around. Worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Could be more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Could be more in terms of trails that show more of the main temple. The trail leaves you below and looking up from afar. The trail could be routed above the temple to afford the visitor a greater perspective. The fact that it not that way detracts from the experience. The history of Kamehameha and of the temples and the associated village below is impressive. The static display and short film at the headquarters is helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
249 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very interesting Hawaiian history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We learned some interesting things about Kamehameha as a boy,young man and on to becoming a great leader.This park also has very good historical information on the Pu'ukohola Heiau which Kamehameha had built .You can go on your own walking tour of the park. It is located on the northern section of the west shore ( North of Kona) so it can be very dry and hot!! Take some water with you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Goosebumps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lovely park. We did not walk up to the temple but listened to the audios and followed the narration using the wall murals as guides. We missed the ranger walk. Just looking at the temple and knowing of the death of Kamehameha's cousin gives you goosebumps.
It was so nice to see Hawaiians using the park just across from the heiau for recreation and a picnic. I guess the spirits of the past rest peacefully with the activities of the present.
Glad we stopped for this cultural and historical (the unification of the islands by Kamehameha I) experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Educational, friendly and great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The rangers at this park are to be highly commended. Our family had a wonderful time visiting this Historic Park which is so rich in Hawaiian History. The visitors centre is well laid out and welcoming. They have a Junior Ranger program for the children which our children embraced by doing an activity sheet and earning their Junior Ranger badge. The rangers were so encouraging and allowed the children to have their photo taken with different ancient tools and weapons such as spears, guns and clubs. The 2 older children were honoured by pretending they were the chiefs.
The nature walk was great where we could view the remains of such an important building close-up. We ended our visit with a personal net fishing demonstration. The staff obviously love their job and I say Mahalo for taking the extra time to welcome our family.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank familyvalue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pu'ukohola Heiau also viewed

 

Been to Pu'ukohola Heiau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing