We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time in Hawaiian history”

Puukohola National Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$186.46*
and up
Hawaii Big Island Circle Small Group Tour: Waterfalls - Hilo - Volcano - Black...
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Kawaihae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical park honoring King Kamehameha
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A trip back in time in Hawaiian history”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This park contains one of the best preserved ancient Hawaiian temple. This will mostly be of interest for people who want to know more about Hawaiian history.

Helpful?
Thank OlivierLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An important piece of Hawaiian history”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Puukohola National Historic Park. Great visitor center, with helpful staff. There is also an audio tour available through your cellphone. The historical significance of the site, and the information provided to visitors, are not to be missed. Wear sunscreen and enjoy your stroll along the path of history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank WVtravelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“History and cultural buffs will love this place”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I love visiting this site with my off island visitors. I try to take them to as many historical sites that I can to give them a connection to the Hawaiian culture. Hawaii Island is filled with sites like this that are accessible and some that are not that help us understand the beautiful culture of the Hawaiians before and after contact with the west. Stop and learn more. Ask questions. Look at the displays. You will learn so much and appreciate Hawaii even more.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wahinetraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A Great Find -- wathc the video”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We last visited here about 6+ years ago. We stopped in again at the suggestion of our guests. They now have a visitor center that has a 45 min video that is well-worth watching. We bought it to take home! If you want a sense of Hawaii history, this will give it to you. And it is FREE! But we did give a donation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Well maintained archeological site”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good self-guided tour of this beautiful site. Entrance fee is $5 per car. History buffs may want to read up in advance. There are free interpretive talks at 10:30 AM and 2:30 PM. Wildlife viewing too... we saw BIG green turtles and colorful fish. The NPS doesn't allow snorkel rentals in the park, so bring your own or rent in advance if you wish to swim with the fishes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldSalt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puukohola National Historic Park also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Puukohola National Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing