We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$219
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$174
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$148
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$386
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,458
$939
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
83
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morninglook no furtherrooms are spaciousoutdoor cookingfruitin kailua konabreakfast is servedb and bbanana pancakesprivate lanaiwonderful hostscaptain cookmikegoatshorsesmonkeysdogs
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 85 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this B&B a few days before our wedding at the Mauna Lani. Let me start off by saying that Clem is the most gracious host. He knows anything and everything about the Big Island and gave us good advice on where to eat and such. The rooms were beautifully furnished with antiques and Hawaiian quilts. And the view is spectacular, unlike anything I've ever seen. You see the entire coastline from Kona to South Point. Clem's breakfasts were amazing as well. The laundry facilites were an added plus. We are definitely returning to the Horizon Guest House sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ocicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed at the Horizon Guest House for 8 days in May, to celebrate our 11th anniversary. Clem was gracious, friendly, welcoming, and has perfected the balance you want to find in every host, but rarely do: he somehow senses when you need something, and appears; then, discreetly slips away to allow guests to feel like they are really at home, rather than staying in someone else's home. And, what a home it is! Spacious, open, airy, and lovely. We woke early each day to Clem's filling and delicious breakfasts made to order (and breakfasts which satisfied both the carnivore and the vegetarian). Clem offered welcome advice to us (we are novice snorklers) and after we expressed certain needs or interests, he always made suggestions to accomodate our desires.

Our room was simple but charming. We appreciated the laundry facilities, the coolers and beach accessories that were there for guest use, and the fully-stocked grilling area poolside. I started each day with a quick dip in the infinity pool while my partner lounged poolside. After that filling breakfast, we would head out to the beach or on a snorkling adventure. Around 3 PM (just about the time the daily afternoon rain shower started) we'd head back for a short nap before going out to eat or (we did this several times) grilling our dinner by the pool or eating sandwiches on our lanai.

While there, my partner and I were the only guests for a few of the nights...a quiet and peaceful haven! During our stay, we were the only lesbian couple there (we chose Horizon Guest House in part because it was listed as gay and lesbian friendly) but the atmosphere Clem fosters is open and inviting, and so we didn't feel limited or awkward even when all the other guests were older, apparently Conservative, straight couples from Texas!

So, in summary, the house is beautiful, the grounds spectacular, the atmosphere inviting, and Clem is divine. There are also animals on the grounds -- a litter (is that the right word?) of baby goats, the mama and daddy goats, horses, a couple of little bouncing dogs, and feline Nick. During our stay, house kitty Nick was dealing with some health problems, so we wish him well and much Aloha.

If you're looking for some peace and tranquility, not too far from the best snorkling on the island, Horizon Guest House is for you! Thanks, Clem!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JP1152001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

The Horizon Guest House has spectacular views and it is decorated with immaculate taste (with beautiful art, and huge open areas with endless views of the ocean and countryside.) We loved it there! So much care is in all the details... our bed was covered in an antique Hawaiian quilt, for example... and our host was very thoughtful and attentive to our needs. Breakfasts were delicious. It was truly the perfect B and B experience, and it is ideal if you are looking for a luxurious, romantic get-away. we loved sitting in the jacuzzi and looking at the view of the ocean. Pictures cannot do this place justice as the views are so panoramic, stretching on as far as the eye can see. I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louisa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

There are at least two great reasons to stay at Horizon Guest House. The first is innkeeper Clem Classen, who has got to be one of the top ten most interesting and hospitable hosts in the world. The second is that this is likely the best B&B you’ll ever experience, anywhere, at any cost. Though the rate is somewhat more than most B&B’s, currently $250/day, we have to say it’s well worth it and we wished we could have stayed longer.
We pity the poor souls who may be paying $800 and even more per day for some of the major resort experiences, when this is SO much better.

Situated on 40 acres far above the Kona Coast, where it’s cooler and bugs aren’t a problem, it’s very private and it’s got a spectacular 180 degree view of the entire coastline. The four guest rooms are quite nice and each has its own private veranda, also overlooking the coast. Out front, an amazing “infinity pool”, whose edge just disappears as it blends into the sky is flanked by a spa and fully equipped barbecue area for your use.

The main area of the house has huge glass doors that open up to allow the living and dining areas to become one with the view of the coast below. These areas and the home theater with a wide selection of DVD’s are available for guest use.

The kitchen is beautiful, breakfasts are outstanding and Clem is more than willing to accommodate any special needs. It’s a plus that he’s also willing to share his recipes. We especially appreciated that he’s thoughtfully provided a guest laundry, which meant we could take care of this chore on our extended vacation without wasting time in a laundromat.

You should be aware that this place is about 26 miles south of Kona, but this is actually a BIG plus. You’ll likely have a car anyway and it’s out of the hustle and significant traffic problems that have developed closer to town. There’s plenty to see in South Kona, and the “commute” is easy for points North except at rush hour. We can highly recommend snorkeling at “Two Steps” just outside the National Park at the Place of Refuge (whose name I cannot pronounce). If you need them, towels and snorkeling gear are provided in the guest laundry room for your use.

There are also great restaurants nearby such as the Keei Cafe, and it’s only minutes from the harbor at Keahou and the not to be missed morning snorkeling tour and lunch at Kealekekoua Bay on the Fairwind II.

All in all, we can’t think of a place we’d rather stay and we highly recommend it. Please give our warmest regards to Clem when you see him.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2007

My wife and I , along with a friend, stayed at the Horizon House on March 7th and 8th based on Tripadvisor reviews. Words fail to describe how beautiful this place is. You are perched on top of the world in a beautiful home designed and built by the owner Clem Classen. We stayed in room # 3 and our friend in room # 4. Both incredible with all the amenities and careful decor. The views of the coastline and breakers in the distance over the "infinity" pool are indescribable ! Clem designed the home to be open to the country and the fabulous views and he succeded beyond measure. Simply put this is the most beautiful B&B we have EVER stayed at and we travel quite often. All your mainland cares and stresses will melt away.
Clem, the owner, is the most gracious host. He was very attentive to any questions or needs you might have. He has full wireless internet access, a wonderful media room for guests to use along with a laundry room. He provides all the beach gear you might need along with an outdoor shower to rinse the sand off when you return! He also can tell you where to go for restaurants and beginning snorkling. My wife and I got to snorkle with the green turtles and we were novice snorklers. Clem had good advice for us as he has been a dive instructor.
The breakfasts Clem prepares are wonderful. He uses fruit from his own property and homemade breads etc. He will also ask for your desires and whipped up some awesome omlettes for us.
This was simply the best B&B we have EVER experienced and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews