We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming!”
Review of The Painted Church

The Painted Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$590.00*
and up
Ultimate Kona from Coffee to Culture Mercedes Tour
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
WNY
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So welcoming!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My review is biased in that I'm including the congregation as well as the physical structure. The congregation was incredibly welcoming during the holidays (and I'm not even of that faith). We returned on another day to see the church and I am glad we did as it is definitely worth seeing. There's a guest book on a podium to sign, and a donation box on the church door if you are so inclined (as I always do when I visit any religious building).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank klam_chowder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    196
    43
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is really just a small, older church with some murals on the walls. The murals were not that spectacular. I'd skip it and go to the garden that is nearby.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank theresahauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Interesting little (and I do mean little) church. It looks more like an upside down boat and is painted inside with tropical bible scenes. The story is the missionary used the pictures to indoctrinate the natives in Christianity because they couldn't read. While supplanting the native's religion with a white Western one is bad enough, at least they didn't go on a mass murdering rampage like the Spanish did with the Inca and the Mayans. The structure itself is in dire need of serious repair both exterior and interior. It would be a loss to let it deteriorate and be lost. Don't trust the GPS location of this place. It is about another 1/2 mile or so down Painted Church Road.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must see, beautiful”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

So humble on the outside but so magical on the inside. The grounds are so beautiful, worth a walk around. See the church and grounds in the rear also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stop and experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very special place with beautiful carvings and painted scenes. There is a statue of mother Mary holding Jesus after His crucifixion. It's a Holy walk up to it, with crosses placed on either side with different meanings representing His fateful journey. It's just east of the parking lot, you may miss it if you don't think to look. This is a place deserving of respect, quiet and honour. Tack this on when visiting the 'Place of Refuge' and 'Captain Cooks Monument'. That makes for a full day outing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Church also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Painted Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing