We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Neatest, Cutest Church with Beautiful Acres of Nature”
Review of The Painted Church

The Painted Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$590.00*
and up
Ultimate Kona from Coffee to Culture Mercedes Tour
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
Paget,Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Neatest, Cutest Church with Beautiful Acres of Nature”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I visited Kona Jun 2011 and my friend had everything researched what to see since it was only one week and I's taking a course and my time's tight. The last day we went to The St. Benedict's Church AKA The Painted Church.
The energy on The Painted Church was, just like everywhere in the depths of Hawaii, very soothing, healing, calming. Well kept and everything pleasing to the eye and heart. The road leading to it relaxing from the greenery. Just really worth making the effort planing and finding it and ofcourse spending the time walking around it. The place speaks to your soul.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katerina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    186
    41
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely little Church”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Gorgeous little church with a very interesting history AND it's still in use today. The gardens around the church are beautiful. I like the hand made items outside the church they put out there for 'sale' (donation).. again, another slice of Hawaiin History that is so integral to the Hawaii as we know it today.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This small quaint church is full of history. The paintings are beautiful and tell many stories not just the ones you see on the wall.
The minister unable to speak the Hawiain language draws these amazing pictures to spread the word of God.
The church is set amongst beautiful gardens and we were blessed to see beautiful flowering Poinsietta large bushes covered in red.
The views are also stunning, standing on the stairs to the church, the small grave yard in front of us and in the distance the amazing blue waters.
A truely blessed day with sunshine and good friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Painted Church was Interesting”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped here briefly as part of a half day bus tour. It was ok, but not something we would do again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Amazing Devotion”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

On the road to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, off 160 less than 1/2 mile on the road of the same name, this little missionary church, St. Benedict's (Roman Catholic) was built in the mid-1800s. Around the turn of the Century, a lone priest, Father John Velghe, devoted several years to painting the interior wood surfaces by hand, with ordinary materials and no formal training. An amazing act of humble devotion. His frescos are of familiar biblical themes. We have visited many of the great cathedrals of Europe, and this place of worship was equally worth our time and reverence. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Church also viewed

 

Been to The Painted Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing