We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honaunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kane Plantation Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Last week we had the pleasure of staying at this lovely new B&B at Captain Cook. We have been to Hawaii for beach holidays many times, on this visit we wanted to experience the old Hawaii and stay at a higher altitude where the air is fresh and the weather perfect for sleeping and relaxing. The Kane Plantation is a successful and operational avocado farm, thus we enjoyed many delicious avocados and some interesting avocado dishes for breakfast. The breakfast is served on a lovely Lanai overlooking the sea and the beautiful tropical gardens.

Our room was very spacious with a bedroom where we could lie in bed in the morning and look down to the bay where Captain Cook was killed. A very good spot for snorkeling. The highlight of the room were the many paintings and memories of the famous Hawaiian artist Herb Kane. The hosts have gone to great lengths and expense to keep alive the love Herb Kane had for Hawaii and this beautiful plantation.

We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the two great staff helping them.

Kane Plantation is not you run of the mill B&b, rather a luxurious resort in the perfect environment.

We will be back

The other feature we enjoyed every day was the outdoor shower where we could overlook a private tropical garden.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 173 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Kane Plantation bed and breakfast is like nothing else I've ever experienced, everything was perfect, the scenery was breathtaking, the breakfast delicious, the rooms were so wonderfully decorated with the beautiful artwork created by the artist whom the plantation is named after. Once I learned more about Kane, his life and art, it gave a more personal touch to my stay. The bed I slept on was even more comfortable then anything I've ever slept on.. This was a fantastic experience, the owners David and Michael are delightful people, as are the rest of the staff, they all really looked after me and made me feel special. thank you so much! What a magical place!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed many B&B's in many different locations over the past 35 years. The Kane Plantation is by far the most luxurious one we have had the pleasure of visiting. Being in Hawaii on vacation is certainly a plus, but when you can enjoy this romantic location in a 5 star establishment like the Kane Plantation, it becomes a most unforgettable experience. The accommodations rival the best hotel you have ever stayed in, and the quiet island views from every room are unequaled. The breakfast menu is to die for, and the hosts attend to your every need, including sunset happy hours on the lanai. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway for two or a place to have a family reunion or a corporate retreat, the Kane Plantation will meet your every expectation. We look forward to many visits in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kanaloa Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanePlantationHawaii, Owner at Kane Plantation Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caro_trip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle 4 Zimmer sind ruhig, grosszügig ausgestattet und sehr gross. Abgerundet wird der Luxus mit eine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monika9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank taisuket312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
19.7 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
178 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
588 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
52.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
1.2 mi away
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kane Plantation Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kane Plantation Guesthouse

Address: 84-1120 Telephone Exchange Road, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96726-0619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range: $145 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse located in Captain Cook, the cultural heart of Hawaii's Big Island South Kona district, at the historic home of Artist and Historian Herb Kawainui Kane. The guesthouse is situated on a 16 acre avocado farm, with beautiful tropical gardens and sweeping views of the coast from Kealakekua Bay to Pu`uhonua O Hōnaunau. 77mi from Volcano and 26mi from Kona airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kane Plantation Guesthouse Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing