We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and your expeditions”
Review of Hale Ho'ola B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Ho'ola B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay and your expeditions”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for some days at Mary's and Bob's B&B. We got excellent breakfast on a beautiful lanai, with fresh juices and homemade pastries. Mary was a really a great host with excellent tips for our trips in this area of big Island. The choice of close by restaurants is limited, but since you are driving around anyway, this doesn't matter. Fantastic beaches with dolphins are just some minutes away. We will go again.

Katrin & Folker

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    39
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omena, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Really enjoyed Mary and Bob at the Hale-Hoola. They could not have been more helpful. Great breakfast with a fabulous view. Clean rooms with Lanai. Adequate parking. Quiet neighborhood, however, the cattle nearby did make noises in the morning. Also located near some very good beaches, and Bob and Mary provide some beach equipment. Overall, the experience was very good. We would return.

Room Tip: The hibiscus room was a bit small for two. Other rooms seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed with Mary and Bob for five nights at their lovely and quiet property. The real advantage to staying at Hale Ho'ola over a hotel is Mary and Bob themselves! They are great hosts and provide a lot of good information about local sights. They also provide a variety of beach supplies if you need them. Great breakfasts too! A special thanks to Brian, who made us our breakfast on the last two days of our stay; we got some great french toast made with guava flavored sweetbread on the last day. We had a great time and we think you will too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not a resort, but a wonderful local experience with charm, great breakfasts, quiet, and insightful innkeepers Mary and Bob. Room is clean, lani is private, and great peaceful views. Great location. I will go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Hale-Ho'ola B&B for 5 nights. Our room was clean & very nice, especially enjoyed the private lanai with a beautiful view. Having our own little refrigerator was handy. The bed was comfortable & furnishings were convenient. The hosts provide an array of "beach" things for guests to use. Mary made breakfast something to look forward to each day. Eating outside on the deck surrounded with papaya trees, Hawaiian music and a view with a giant blooming red poinsetta tree was very relaxing. Lots of fresh fruit, some we'd never tried before. Her cornbread is "killer" good. The POG (papaya, orange, and guava juice) was delicious. While we enjoyed our tea, POG and fresh fruit, Mary would prepare some yummy breakfast entree. We enjoyed visiting with Bob & Mary over breakfast. They gave good tips for places to visit on our way to Volcanoes Park. Of course, I must mention the wonderful little geckos! Got lots of great pictures of them enjoying drops of juice we put on the table. The trees and plants around the grounds are wonderful. If you like to snorkel there's a spot, Two Steps, close by with a world class reef to explore. At first, my husband was moaning that there was no TV, but it really wasn't a big deal. Bob & Mary have neighbors with a rooster that likes to crow some mornings. Being a farm girl, I actually liked that. We enjoyed our stay at Hale Ho'ola B&B very much and will definitely stay again if we're lucky enough to visit the BIG ISLAND once more. Debra & Norman

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debkresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a blast!!! From the moment my husband and I took our first step out of our rental vehicle we knew we had found a very special place! The thick, tailored, landscape and vibrant colors were just like something out of a dream while an even bigger surprise was the many varieties of fruit harvested and served right from those plants to the breakfast table by Mary. And then just when you think it cannot get any better, you are served fresh Kona coffee while Hawaiian music tracks are prepared and played by Bob! The rooms were very clean, comfortable, quiet and the gorgeous weather made it just perfect for a great night sleep too. There is so much to see and do here. From the volcano's to the coffee fields or tasting areas to the gorgeous beaches and top notch restaurants we are a few of the lucky ones who have been able to experience such a magical place. You just can not go wrong with this stay and as mentioned in almost all other reviews - you just could not meet two better people than the owners of this property, Bob and Mary... They take the time to help you maneuver your way around the island and make great suggestions to make your vacation and memories exactly what you want it to be. Do yourself a favor - GO NOW!!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent with private lanai/patios, bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The breakfasts outside on the deck were fantastic. A lot of the fruit was picked from trees on their property. As we ate we were visited by geckos that we allowed to scavenge papaya rinds and empty juice glasses; this was quite entertaining. The room was very clean and we very much enjoyed the private lanai, which was quite spacious. Bob and Mary were very helpful with tips on our daily activities. The only concern we had was that the bushes at the head of the driveway need to be trimmed a little to allow better visibility when pulling out on Hwy 11. We stayed at Hale Ho'ola for three nights and enjoyed every minute we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
18.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
12.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
38.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
12.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'ola B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'ola B&B

Property: Hale Ho'ola B&B
Address: 85-4577 Mamalahoa Hwy, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'ola B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale-Ho'Ola B&B is 20 miles South of Kailua on the Big Island. It is a two story plantation style house nestled among tropical plants & flowers, offering a panoramic view of the ocean & unforgettable sunsets. South Kona has the Old Hawaiian flavor, with countryside, coffee farms & quaint little towns. Within 10 mins of:-Snorkeling & Swimming Beaches-with dolphins & turtles-Famous Painted Church-Place of Refuge Historic Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hale Ho'ola B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Ola B&B Hawaii/Honaunau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing