We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for an after snorkel latte and home made dessert.”

Kona Coffeehouse & Cafe at Honaunau
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect place for an after snorkel latte and home made dessert.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after visiting Two Step and had a latte and shared a piece of home made coffee cake. The latte was excellent and their dessert was superb, made in house. Our friends had a macadamia nut cookie and it rivalled our cake. The service was wonderful and they have a very nice covered patio out back to escape from the afternoon sun. Don't miss this place. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lingette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great post-snorkelling lunch spot”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found this place by accident after snorkelling at the beach down the road. A lovely cool calm spot to sit on the back patio away from the road and the heat and madness of Kona town (during the Ironman race week). My husband had the ahi melt which was delicious, I had the bowl of chowder which was super delicious and a bargain at $7.They made pancakes for our son even though it was outside the breakfast hours. Thanks so much. This place is a real gem. hope to visit again for coffee and cakes, or a smoothie or brunch on Sunday while we are here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, funky service, and very near Honaunau”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We love to spend the morning at Honaunau Bay snorkeling and then catch lunch here (closed on Mondays). Their fresh catch ahi, mahimahi or ono dishes are terrific and we had amazing macadamia nut veggie burgers here recently. What a surprise. They used to simply have walk up window service and then you could sit on the back patio but now it's table service and generally pretty good. Like many of our favorite locations on the Kona Coast, the pace is slow and you need to take off your fast food stopwatch and enjoy it. The desserts are spectacular and something with dark chocolate and hot Kona coffee is just a great cap on the morning. Don't miss this spot. It has no great views, but it is convenient to the Mamaloha Highway and turnoff down to Honaunau. The Kona Fruit stand is just a minute further south to pick up some fresh fruit - very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tembo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“M Hamill”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had the best ever tuna-melt for lunch. The baked goods were outstanding: scrumptious macadamia nut tarts and a coconut square to die for. It was delightful to learn that the coffee we'd been served was grown right on their own property. I brought a lb. home with me and have been enjoying it so much. The owner made a point of strolling among the tables, chatting with his customers, which is always a nice touch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fresh and delicious food.. Farm to table..love this place!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

MacNut burger to die for..freshest Ahi ever..smoothie made from fruit from their farm...The day we were there for lunch the fresh catch was being delivered directly from the boat..Two 50 lb. Ahi tuna.. Beautiful! The kids got to hold the fish and take pictures! Truly one of the highlights of the trip! Recommend this great little cafe to everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Coffeehouse & Cafe at Honaunau also viewed

Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing