We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for snorkelling!”
Review of Honaunau Bay

Honaunau Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.31*
and up
Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for snorkelling!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Sheltered bay with clear blue waters. Great for a nice swim or snorkel. Off street parking can be hard to find during busy season, but you can park next door at the Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Historic Park and it's only a short walk to the bay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    86
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to snorkel”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at how much there was to see here. Parking was limited outside of the park but we didn't have a problem and the beach really wasn't that crowded. Getting in and out of the water was challenging only because the number of people trying to use the same spot. The water was clear, there was a lot of different coral areas to explore, and we saw lots of fish and turtles. There are deep areas and we saw scuba divers so there is a lot to do if you like the water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kannuck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Snorkel plus history”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

While the snorkeling at two step didn't blow my mind, combining snorkeling w a visit to the place of refuge was a great way to spend 2hrs. We paid $5 to park in natl historic park, walked to two step, dried off and walked through the place of refuge. Area felt very safe- we actually stashed our keys under the car so we wouldn't get them wet snorkeling. We went at lunch on Friday and had no issues w crowds or parking. There wasn't much info at place of refuge so consider doing cellphone audio tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aeackerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Snorkelling at 2 Step, City of Refuge”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

It's hard to find a nice beach on Hawaii that has it all. It was great for snorkelling, and the lava rock was cool to walk on. It is tough to get around yet there was a guy draped over the rock like it was a bed. 2 step refers to how you get in, you take the naturally formed steps into the water. We went when other beaches were closed due to high surf (see the picture). Slammed against the rocks when we went out, slammed when we came in. Not for the timid swimmer. Once in the water we floated along with a turtle, lots of fish, rumors of dolphins but they were not that dumb to be in the water there. On a calm day I could see it being an experience for anyone to see. The information at www.kona123.com/honaunaubeach.html is invaluable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian_Zeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun quick snorkel spot! First timer!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We read reviews that this is a great snorkeling spot and you need to get here early or you wont get a spot. We arrived by 10-10:30 and we parked on the edge of the road right in front of the snorkeling area. (it was on a weekday, so maybe that's why we found a spot easily). There is a small lot that charges $3 to park, or you can park down the narrow one way street and walk. There are port-a-pottys if you need them. You definitely need some kind of hiking sandals or wet shoes or something. The lava is hard on the feet to get from the beach to the water. When we got to the waters edge, we just threw off our Keans in a pile and snorkeled. No one bothers with your stuff.

With that said, the snorkeling was AWESOME. We got snorkel gear from a local walmart, but didnt think to get fins, but a local had them for rent so that made things easy. Swam with school of dolphins, the brightest colored fish I've ever seen. Amazing! A 'regular'' taught my husband and I what to do and how to do the Two Step to blend in with everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honaunau Bay also viewed

 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Honaunau Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing