We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great history”
Review of Honaunau Bay

Honaunau Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.31*
and up
Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great history”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a nice partly rebuilt "museum". The rangers are friendly and helpful. It does not take long to get through the self guided walk. You can park here and walk north to a great place to snorkel as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    83
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“National Park ok, but the Snorkeling was Fantastic”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We toured the National Park and it did have some interesting history. The Snorkeling right outside the Park (cannot go into the water in the Park) was fantastic. The reef is right up to the shore and there is an abundance of fish.

This are is also know as two-step

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_S23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
256 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great but challenging snorkeling”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We noticed the snorkeling in the bay while walking through the adjacent national park. The reviews I read mentioned that they call this area "Two Step" because there are two rock steps you can use to get in the water to snorkel. They say the steps make entry pretty easy. That is true, but it is still pretty tricky if you aren't careful. It is easy to get washed into the rocks on your swim back if you aren't paying attention. We saw several people who were injured while we were there. The snorkeling was good and well worth it...just be careful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very special place. I cannot imagine not visiting this place while at the Kona side. I learned so much about the history of the Hawaiian population before arrival of Capt. Cook. We got to hear the ranger introduction - it was about 40 minutes and very informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kipod5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great little stop along the way to other atractions”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

i insisted on seeing this attraction and am so glad we did. granted a hotel employee sent us a round about way there and we ended up on a 1 lane road with 2 way traffic!

the attraction itself is well laid out. the brochure helps to explain all that you are seeing. beyond the amazing shoreline, the carvings are really wonderful. i only wish they had more. a great stop verse some of the others we had seen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honaunau Bay also viewed

 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Honaunau Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing