We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean park, interesting stuff to see, snorkeling prohibited”

Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Hawaii Island Experience
More Info
$590.00*
and up
Ultimate Kona from Coffee to Culture Mercedes Tour
More Info
$114.58*
and up
Small-Group Historic Coast and Culture Tour from Kailua-Kona
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Honaunau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 182-acre park contains the Puuhonua, a sacred place of refuge, as well as other temples and coastal sites.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean park, interesting stuff to see, snorkeling prohibited”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

No snorkeling, swimming or fishing inside the park. You have to walk next door. The entry is a little dicey, as are the locals and the glass all over the lava rocks. We walked through he park, too, but didn't have our phones to do the cell phone tour. Definitely some interesting statues and buildings. Watch the fish protect their nests in the little ponds...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAMomof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    358
    69
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“History at its best”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great way to spend the morning, walking around the grounds. If you love history this is your place, if you love the water, walk on over to 2 step a beach across from the park. Great Snorkling there. Make sure you walk and see the tidal pools. Saw some great fish and a turtle that was trapped.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“place of refuge”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent spot to learn about Hawaiian Culture and history - had lots of activities on the weekend and sea turtles are sighted in the inlet - excellent snorkeling nearby

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlc5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good timing! Cultural Festival”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We happened to time our visit with a cultural Festival. While parking was an issue, we happened to see some native Hawaiian crafts and life, which we would not have, had we been there virtually any other day!

Very significant place to the Hawaiians and very interesting. A great place to get a flavor of tradition and life on the islands before it "westernized".

A must see if you want to get a feel for old Hawaii.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get informed on Hawaiian History”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had never heard of this Park until someone at work told me about it. So glad we went. With the restorations, it was amazing to see the Heiau that housed the bones of past chiefs. There was also a wonderful outrigger on display that was made by a native craftsman who frequently is there working on one or another piece. It is hot there so bring water, wear good walking shoes. You can either take a self guided tour or start your time there with a guide who gives a short talk. What is significant about this "Place of Refuge" is that if you were on the losing side during a war, or refused to fight, or broke a sacred law, you got the death penalty. BUT if you could make it to this place, be absolved by a Hawaiian Priest, the death penalty was lifted and you were allowed to live. Would have liked to go to the beach next door but we were too tired out that day. For those who need a wheelchair, sand wheelchairs are available at no charge. The only fee is $5 for parking and there are handicapped spaces available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank activeoldster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Historical Park also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing