We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience National Museum of the Marine Corps
from $675.00
More Info
from $240.00
More Info
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveler rating
976
58
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
58
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iwo jima tun tavern united states korean war interactive displays boot camp semper fi on display gift shop my dad memorial park active duty free admission awe inspiring dc area men and women an american
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

While visiting family in the area we toured this unbelievable museum. The level of detail and effort for each time period persentation was truly remarkable. You need to allow at least 3 hours to be able to view the entire museum. We will visit again.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank dlmoore305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Like other of our military museums we’ve visited, this is another spectacular keeper. No parking fee. No admission fee. Extremely friendly, helpful staff, many are volunteers. Architecture is stunning. Lots of interactive exhibits. Great for kids. History and lots of it. Don’t miss the beautiful little chapel a very short distance from where you exit the main museum parking. I recommend no less than 2 hours. We were there three hours and felt rushed. We wanted to explore some of the trails but ran out of time. More exhibits being constructed so we’ll definitely be back when we visit our kids in the area. It’s a little off the beaten path of all the DC area stuff. Definitely worth the time.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 93KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Beautiful building w/ interactive displays helpful, knowledgeable staff. Starts with a brief film and timeline of displays and replicas (most were real treasures) showing history of the Marines. Certainly not was expected of a museum, spent about five hours and could have stayed five more. Restaurant food was excellent. Would return and highly recommend. There if no charge for tour.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank froggyfamily240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

My Dad, who was a naval Korean War veteran even enjoyed it. He was in a wheel chair and was able to do it all.
Thanks!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We visit many museums and this one definitely ranked on the higher end! First of all, it's easy to get to and it is FREE! It's gives great history from even the very beginning of becoming a Marine and stepping off that bus for boot camp. The transitions from one period to the next flow nicely and the exhibits are very appealing with great choices for historical content. One exhibit even had the temperature super cold for affect. There were plenty of docents available to expand on the display as well as answer any questions you may have. Their gift shop was very nice with a great variety of things. They had restaurant inside as well. There was an art display on the top floor. It was not super large so one could easily stroll through relatively quickly. That is not something that was of particular interest to my family, but for those interested in art, it might be worth the walk through. There are monuments outside on the grounds and they are working on expansions. We will go back through at a later time to see the additions. We were very happy with our visit here.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Sandee2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews