We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Touch of Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of the Marine Corps

National Museum of the Marine Corps
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Triangle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE MUSEUM WILL BE CLOSED JAN 4-MARCH 31, 2016 DUE TO CONSTRUCTION. PLEASE CHECK OUR WEBSITE FOR UPDATES. The National Museum of the Marine Corps is a lasting tribute to U.S. Marines--past, present, and future. Situated on a 135-acre site adjacent to Marine Corps Base Quantico, Virginia, and under the command of Marine Corps University, the Museum's soaring design evokes the image of the flag-raisers of Iwo Jima and beckons visitors to this 120,000-square-foot structure. World-class interactive exhibits using the most innovative technology surround visitors with irreplaceable artifacts and immerse them in the sights and sounds of Marines in action. Admission and parking are always free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
1,083 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the minute you park your vehicle in the large parking area and view the building design; like the flag raising over Iwo Jima, to the panels that tell true stories of the people and the military campaigns, you sense you are entering hallowed ground. Weapons display, and artifacts from the entire history of the USMC unfold to tell the story as only the Marines can tell. Beautiful bi-plane and jet on display as well as tanks and weapons. Short movies and interactive areas for the kids to enjoy. Bring the kids spend a couple of hours and teach them what it takes to be a Marine. Even if you have not served in the military, you will leave with a sense of pride at what you have seen. A very classy museum. No fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    47
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marine Corps Museum Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This past Friday, August 30th, we were traveling on US95 from Myrtle Beach to Westchester County,NY. We arrived near Quantico , VA. around the time rush hour was starting. I spotted over the tree line the National Marine Corps Museum. We had never been here before but being a Navy Veteran decided to get off road and visit. Road signs to museum was very clear and there was ample free parking.
We walked thru an impressive plaza in to the museum. Inside there were guides who were very friendly and helpful. They explained how the museum was laid out. Restroom facilities were easy to locate and they have a very nice store. We did not visit their restraunt so can not comment on it.
The main hall had manny eh it's that were interesting. You enter the exit area and there are sign post showing the various periods in Marine and US history. A very interesting part to me is concerning the Corps just prior to the Civil War and during it. They deal with the pain of CSA Marines fighting their brothers in the US Marines. The exhibit on the Vietnam War was extremely important to me since I served on an Aircraft Carrier off Vietnam. I knew of the conditions the Marines lived under especially during Khe Sanh!
I will definitely be making the drive south to spend more time visiting!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is one of those areas that you must take time out to visit. I try to make a visit once a week and see specific areas. One day I will complete my journey of seeing the whole museum. If you are a Marine...you must stop here...Check out the new Chesty statue!!! Oorahh!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stop right off 95”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here on the way to DC. It is a very complete museum and worth another trip as we did not allot enough time. There is a great deal of history, but also interactive activities that our kids enjoyed. The introductory video was very good as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marine Museum is a lesson in U.S. History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited in July 2013 after our son graduated from Marine Officer Candidate School, and were completely impressed by this museum. It is a beautiful structure with excellent exhibits. You will definitely want to allow several hours for your visit. I was humbled by the experience and it made me so very thankful for the sacrifices of those who have served. I would recommend that you bring your children so that they can also understand and appreciate the freedoms we enjoy were purchased at a very high price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Marine Corps also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Triangle, Prince William County
 

Been to National Museum of the Marine Corps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing