We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit”

National Museum of the Marine Corps
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
More Info
$675.00*
and up
Marine Corps Tour in Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Triangle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE MUSEUM WILL BE CLOSED JAN 4-MARCH 31, 2016 DUE TO CONSTRUCTION. PLEASE CHECK OUR WEBSITE FOR UPDATES. The National Museum of the Marine Corps is a lasting tribute to U.S. Marines--past, present, and future. Situated on a 135-acre site adjacent to Marine Corps Base Quantico, Virginia, and under the command of Marine Corps University, the Museum's soaring design evokes the image of the flag-raisers of Iwo Jima and beckons visitors to this 120,000-square-foot structure. World-class interactive exhibits using the most innovative technology surround visitors with irreplaceable artifacts and immerse them in the sights and sounds of Marines in action. Admission and parking are always free.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Norman Park, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

If you are in the area, you must visit this museum. The landscape around the building offers a chapel up a short hill with monuments all along the walking paths. The museum has done a fantastic job with ‘life like’ simulations from the different war eras.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    50
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must see for all Americans”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

A friend and I arrived at approximately 2:00 pm one weekday and spent three hours in the museum. Turns out that was a woefully insufficient period of time. We had left our wives shopping at a nearby mall before arriving at the museum In retrospect, that was a good decision. I fear it may have been a bit too much for our wives. That said, I would not discourage anyone from seeing the museum. But if you're a history buff, this exceptional exhibition deserves to be seen during the better part of a day, or better yet, perhaps two days. Otherwise, to absorb all that is there, in a short time frame, is simply sensory over load. Everything imaginable that composes the USMC legend is here. Tanks, aircraft, weapons, medals, uniforms, etc, from every era of Corps history, are housed in this magnificent facility. In my opinion, this is not a place for young, restless, easily distracted children. It's a place for serious visitors and deserves to be shown the respect, honor and dignity earned by the many that have served in this very important component of our armed forces. I plan another visit soon.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank theconehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best museum yet!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have visited family in No VA for many years and have often thought of a visit to this museum. So glad finally made it happen. I had been missing out on what I now consider the best museum I have yet to visit. My girlfriend was equally impressed.

like many attractions in the DC metro area (is actually right outside gates of USMC base Quantico), this is free and so the value is extraordinary. Just come there with a full stomach, since the cafe is big time pricey. What makes this so great is the quality of the exhibits, set up according to wars, along with the very knowedgible guides.

If you are looking for something fun and interesting to do in No VA, see this museum. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank rcole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a Marine or a history buff to enjoy this museum”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was our 5th visit to this museum, which is a "go to" place for whenever we have guests. The museum is well done, has informative volunteer docents, is always clean and the visitors are typically cordial and friendly - as most of them are older, family or military.

We have retired/former military family members, so we appreciate the exhibits and the overall message of the museum: the history of our military and their resolve to protect our freedom. Easy enough. The museum is a great way to learn war history without having to bore yourself through a history book, for my homeschoolers, with documentaries, photos, displays and life-size replicas and original items from tanks to uniforms, etc.

The museum recently added "try on" uniforms and a few more documentaries, and another area is planned. Every time we go, we notice something new.

The food in the restaurant is good, and the museum store is fun - there's plenty of small souvenier items and neat gifts that are suitable especially for the hard-to-shop for guys in the family.

The museum is interesting for kids, small to teen, and everything is appropriate for most ages except for the documentaries - some are a little too graphic and bloody (or depict dead people) for my elementary schooler, but appropriate for my teen, especially to understand the devastation of various wars, particularly in terms of casualties.

The surrounding museums grounds are also well done, with trails, memorials, a playground, and more than sufficient parking. Everything is free - the parking and museum.

Whenever we are there, we typically chat with other museum goers, some whom are Vietnam vets and others who are out-of-town visitors, and the opportunity to thank a service member is always a plus.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gracegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“National Museum of the Marine Corps--Semper Fidelis”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

If you are a military history buff, then this is one of the places that must be on your list to visit. From Tun Tavern to present day, the history of the Marine Corps is well presented in numerous displays and dioramas. It is a trip well worth your time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PodgeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Marine Corps also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Triangle, Prince William County
 

Been to National Museum of the Marine Corps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing