We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely facinating and inspiring”

National Museum of the Marine Corps
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Triangle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE MUSEUM WILL BE CLOSED JAN 4-MARCH 31, 2016 DUE TO CONSTRUCTION. PLEASE CHECK OUR WEBSITE FOR UPDATES. The National Museum of the Marine Corps is a lasting tribute to U.S. Marines--past, present, and future. Situated on a 135-acre site adjacent to Marine Corps Base Quantico, Virginia, and under the command of Marine Corps University, the Museum's soaring design evokes the image of the flag-raisers of Iwo Jima and beckons visitors to this 120,000-square-foot structure. World-class interactive exhibits using the most innovative technology surround visitors with irreplaceable artifacts and immerse them in the sights and sounds of Marines in action. Admission and parking are always free.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely facinating and inspiring”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We happened to be in the Quantico area and stopped by the National Museum of the Marine Corps - what an amazing place! A great place to learn a lot of things you didn't cover in history during school (makes me wonder why?) . My older teen was totally inspired as were the rest of our family.... we spent a LOT more time there than we expected but the information and presentation was incredibly absorbing and engaging. TOTALLY worth the trip - sparked quite a bit of thoughtful conversation among multiple generations. We'll go back as often as possible that's for sure!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    49
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I found this by accident, but if you have any family members in the military, military buff, or support the military in general this is definitely a well worth stop. there is even a nice restraunt down the street that has great food for a decent price. it has patches of every unit that has past through.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raytown, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive from D.C. Don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Admission is free but the museum is priceless. Great exhibits -interactive and immersive. Gives you a great appreciation for the bravery of the men and women who have served our country and United States Marines. Allow a couple of hours, minimum.

Helpful?
3 Thank Frq64138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nothing about this museum will disappoint you”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I thought I was going to be bored because my Marine husband wanted to visit. This place is amazing with the planes hanging in the huge atrium to the exhibits. Very interesting. I saw activities for children throughout. I even want to bring my retired Army father here.

Helpful?
4 Thank LoughsofVermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really well done - worth a few hours”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Military fan or not this was a great stop. The museum is divided by time frame and includes all the conflicts fought by marines since the corp was formed. The building itself is beautiful , but the exhibits are awe inspiring. Great gift shop. If you have a marine in the family, he or she won't escape this place without lots of thank yous and inquiries from about their service from other marines. My father in laws who doesn’t talk much about his service had lots of conversations with peers.

As a note, if you go on a Saturday you're sure to see lots of wedding activities as there is a chapel on the grounds that is a popular place for marines to wed. We saw three during our visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Marine Corps also viewed

Triangle, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to National Museum of the Marine Corps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing