We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pipestone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pipestone RV Campground
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The pipestone RV Campground is a great place to stay and just across the street entrance to the Pipestone Natlional Monument, which is a must see. The owners Earl and Suzanne where warm, friendly and very helpful.
Most of the spots are gravel, with some being on grass, which is what we prefer. The bathrooms and laundry room were very clean. Price was very reasonable.
We would and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Simple, clean, affordable and well-placed in Pipestone, the Pipestone RV Campground offers campers a good value. Sites are gravel, some with shade trees, some without. Our site had full hookups but was "out in a field" among a few other worn grass patches where other sites were awaiting travelers. Laundry room is clean and well kept. Pool is clean, if small. Campground is located across the street from a replica 19th century fort with an exceptionally awesome gift shop. It's also about a half a mile from the Pipestone National Park, which offers self-guided tours to the pipestone quarries that have been used by Native Americans for centuries. The gift shop has fine handmade art, jewelry and more, plus live demonstrations by 4th generation pipestone carvers. A small museum is also within the building. A must see. Very educational.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TieTheKnotVideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this campground because it had such great reviews. What I didn't realize was this is an RV campground with a few rustic tent sites. When we checked in I had asked if they had a garbage bag and the answer was no. Generally, when we check in at campgrounds they give us the site we are at and a garbage bag. This was my first clue that we were at the wrong campground.

The grounds are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the pool was very inviting. BUT! It is not for those of us who like to tent. They advertise warm showers. This is the case as long as only one person is using one of the four showers. You cannot take two showers at once and still have warm water. We thought that maybe we would lay by the pool on Saturday, but there are no chairs to lay on, just chairs to sit in.

If I had an RV, this would be a great campground, but I only have a tent so will bypass this campground if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped at this campground on our way back from driving from Michigan to Wyoming. We were late to the campground- arriving after 10:00pm as we had been driving all day and the owner was nice enough to come out and show us our site. The bathrooms were ok for a campground and they honored the Good Sam membership. This campground was right by the National Park we wanted to visit so it was perfect for that. Very nice for a place to lay your head at night and very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank eclipsethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Clean, well run family park. Honors Good Sam and Passport members. Rest rooms/showers need updating, but are cleaned regularly and well. Good area to explore.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SusiDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Very clean grounds and bath house. Wonderful pool. Great location for walking to the memorial just across the road. We had motorhome troubles on the way to this campground and when we called ahead to let them know, they were very understanding. Once we arrived, a day late, we were able to set up and enjoy the park. Had some trouble with the cable hook-up (a first time luxury we decided to indulge in) due to lack of knowledge about our motorhome TV wiring and we couldn't find anyone with any experience to help us out, so we were unable to use the cable for which we paid extra. We had no cell phone coverage at this location, but the wireless internet access allowed us to keep in touch with friends and family via e-mail. We were happy for the pool since it was extremely hot during our stay. After spending a day at the memorial, there was nothing else to do but swim and ride bikes around the gravel paths. It's a nice place to stop and relax for a few short days, but teenagers and younger ones would get bored during longer stays at this campground.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jdvroegop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2004

We recently spent only one night at the Pipestone RV campground in Pipestone, Minnesota. Wished we had had time to stay longer. The grounds are beautiful and the resident managers are outstanding. They have a lovely gift shop and are so close to Pipestone National Monument and the Pageant headquarters for the story of Hiawatha. Had we known more about it ahead of time we would have planned our stay to take in that pageant. The owners were so accommodating and even when we were forced to be a late arrival they had everything waiting for us to ease our checkin procedure. We would definitely plan to stay there more than one night given the chance to return to Minnesota.

Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pipestone hotels
1.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Pipestone
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pipestone
0.7 mi away
Historic Calumet Inn
Historic Calumet Inn
#1 of 1 in Pipestone
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipestone RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestone RV Campground

Property: Pipestone RV Campground
Address: 919 N Hiawatha Ave, Pipestone, MN 56164-2232
Location: United States > Minnesota > Pipestone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pipestone
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from Mid-April to November 1 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing