We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Calumet Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pipestone B&B and Inns
Bellevue, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Sweet Place”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The inn was great, there a was large winding staircase, stone walls, and a nice wooden bar. The western burger I had was delicious. My room had a good bed with wooden bed posts and old pictures on the wall. On the other hand, my TV had a high pitch noise that made it too loud to watch and it had a outdated regular style bathroom, but I'm told they have jacuzzi's and clawfoot tubs in some of the rooms, should have gone for those, that would have been sweeet.

Room Tip: Go for clawfoot tub or jacuzzi!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the nice feedback! We are happy you enjoyed The Western Burger (can't go wrong with homemade BBQ) and enjoyed the historic features of our little inn. :-) All our rooms are very unique, so you'll have to come back and try out some newly renovated ones. We have since replaced the TV in your room, so thank you for letting us know about the noise. Until we host you again, take good care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
45
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've dreamed of visiting Pipestone Natl Monument for 40 years. This historic hotel added hospitality and a feeling of returning home to my visit. The new owners were very solicitous of my desires. I was surprised by the names on the rooms; mine was Abigail's Dream. I'm imagining it was named for Mrs. Abigail Gardner, historical person who figured in the history of the monument. The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious. Parking was easy. The bathtub had claw feet. My only difficulty was lighting for my morning writing, so I moved the lamp on top of the microwave. Even in the middle of the town, it was quiet, easy sleeping on the nights I was there, alas, only two of them. I'll stay here when I bring my grandchildren to Pipestone with me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, sir! We were honored to host your very first visit to Pipestone, and hope to host you again someday! :-) Also, thank you for the advice on the lamps. We are trying hard to renovate our rooms one by one, and make sure the lighting isn't too bright or too dim. :) Take good care until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska,MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed while seeing national monument, historical Pipestone and Blue Mounds state park. Now new ownership working hard to upgrade. Staff was top notch! Food great...we hear that there are much nicer rooms than the one we got which was one the last ones available. Beautiful establishment..with a few rough edges shined up and continued upgrading abd better cleaning it will be a diamond.
Very reasonable prices. Great food!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieChaska_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We enjoyed hosting you as well, and are happy to know that you appreciate all the updates and renovations we've progressively done. :-) Thanks again for choosing us and for visiting Pipestone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

tHank You! there's something very special about the Calumet inn the family running it does such a great job...they take pride in what they do And It Shows. the food there is phenomenal, the antique furniture and the history There give the experience an extra layer allowing you to feel immersed in the history of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktahtinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind encouragement! We are happy to know that you appreciate the unique ambiance and history of our hotel, and we will definitely tell the kitchen about the "phenomenal" meal you enjoyed. :-) We hope you return to Pipestone and allow us the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I'm here for work and was told by several people to check this place out. It has 2 bars and dining, the staff is very friendly and rooms are clean and quiet. I will definitely continue to stay here while here for work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review, Mark! We enjoy having you as a repeat hotel customer, and accommodating your changing work schedule! Anything you need, just let us know and we'll do our best to make your stay as comfortable as can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

In area doing work, stopped for the night. Surprised with a restaurant, bar, etc. knew nothing about this place. Loved the ambiance of the building in and out. Loved the room. Comfortable. Quiet. Felt very old style. Felt a little creepy at first, but I loved that feeling. Can't wait to bring wife here for dinner, drinks and an evening. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is cuz I did not eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We are happy you loved your experience! Thank you for the kind comments about the cleanliness and coziness of our little hotel. Our housekeepers take great pride in taking care of this antique property. We look forward to hosting you and your wife for dinner, drinks, and a romantic night in Pipestone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell Rapids, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I love the history of that place but some people say its haunted... Which I believe is true. Because I had an experience. Me, my uncle, and cousin went up to the third floor at room 309 and we didn't rent it out, the door was just open. So of course, we went inside to investigate. Before we went up there we asked the girl at the front counter if any of the rooms were rented out. She said no. Then we went up there. So when we got to 309 it was unlocked so we went in. It was a regular room with a fridge and a bed and bathroom and TV. Everything seemed normal. Until... we heard a noise in the closet. I ran out but my cousin and uncle stayed in and got locked in. None of us outside locked it. Actually, it was very cold in the room, and the heater was on! When we all got out we went downstairs to tell my family what had happened... When we got back upstairs to show them, it was locked, and we didn't lock it when we got out. We didn't close it all the way, nobody rented out rooms, it was only my family and friends there. Quite quiet inside other rooms because we took the tour. But when we went up there alone it was Crazy!

Another story is of my other cousin. He went up there to see if it was still locked that night and he tried to open the door and it shocked him! That is the first thing paranormal activity does to people. Then we went down the hall and he got shocked again! We all laughed and thought it was a consequence. But later when he was sleeping it shocked him again. We knew either a ghost did it or he rubs his feet on carpet too much. Honestly, he doesn't have any carpet at his house. Think about that.



This place was a cool experience, I would love to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalumetInn, Owner at Historic Calumet Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your story! :-) Our hotel has anchored the historic downtown district since 1888, and has collected lots of interesting tales from employees and guests! :-) Friendly spirits, if any, give this building extra character. We hope to host you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Calumet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Calumet Inn

Property: Historic Calumet Inn
Address: 104 W Main St, Pipestone, MN 56164
Location: United States > Minnesota > Pipestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pipestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Calumet Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the jewel of the MN prairie land! Once the grandest hotel in SW Minnesota, the Historic Calumet Inn is a splendid place to dine, relax and have a restful night. Come see why we are a favorite for vacationers, business professionals, tour groups, honeymooners and retreats! 36 Guest rooms, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 great experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Calumet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Calumet Hotel Pipestone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing