We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staff here is great, free laundry & convenience store on-site, great value, convenient location. Free wi-fi, free parking.

Stayed here most of last year and a lot of this year. Staff works hard to make you feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Vengeance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizEspino, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your positive post. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
Next time you are in Albuquerque, we hope you will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had to work in the ABQ and my company put me up at two different places. I stayed at ther Extended Stay America (you may read my review) and here, the Candlewood Suites on Menaul. I am not sure what the rates were for my extended stay, but I was pleased with the Candlewood Suites. Very pleased.

The furnishings are nice, contemporary and, for the room I stayed in, fairly new. There was a full size fridge, a stove top with two burners, a microwave and a dishwasher. Really, a full-size fridge and dishwasher! The sink was small and if you let the dishes stack up, they were troublesome to rinse, so the dishwasher came in handy. They provide enough dishes for two people, I think four can eat fine.

The bathroom was soooo much better than the Extended Stay room. It had a strong shower flow, plenty of room and counter space and two switches, one for vent and one for lights. After my experience at ES, I never thought so much about the difference two switches makes.

There is a nice flat screen TV and a VHS/DVD player with a decent desk/entertainment center for work use. The bed is very comfortable and had everything I liked in my bed furnishings; clean sheets, firm mattress and plenty of pillows to last through the night.

Breakfast would be nice, they do sell some items in their "pantry store" at a very reasonable price for a late night snack. But with free laundry service, who am I to complain? All the washer and dryer units seemed to be in good condition and there was four of each, enough to do my laundry in one night under two hours.

I read some of the other reviews and there are some things that don't make this place perfect. They do not have a breakfast and no swimming pool. They offer a nice cardio fitness area with a bowflex type machine (as you can tell, I didn't use it), but an indoor pool would have made this an "Excellent" stay. There was an A/C unit that was making a lot of noise, either mine or someone near me, but that was not a deal breaker, as the A/C thermostat is very convenient and I've had worse (see my InTown Suites review).

As for staff, they were all nice and handled any request in a timely fashion. Room service showed up once a week and did a fine job cleaning the room and making it smell great. The parking lot was a little small but it felt safe when I returned late in the evening. The location was fairly centralized and if ABQ just had a better freeway system, it would have made arriving at the hotel from I25 a little easier. Other than that, when I go on business trips, this will be where I will stay from now on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you back in Albuquerque soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is great for long or short stops. My family and I stayed there for seven days and the room had everything we needed. Cooking area, two rooms, pull out sofa bed, pet friendly and full size fridge. The room also came with utencils and pots/pans. We did not have maid service but were able to get fresh towels from the front desk. The hotel also offered free laundry services and a small snack bar area. Location is also great, a Walmart is less than a five minute walk. We paid $69 a day including the pet fee. For the price I did not mind the not having the daily housekeeping service. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ggreenggiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our amenities. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

First time at Candlewood suites. We enjoyed the two nights we stayed. Really liked having the laundry/snack area and the gym was well equipped. Located right off the highway to downtown and most attractions. Price was great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Manager at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Think of us next time you visit Albuquerque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is an extended stay hotel. Our room came equipped with a full kitchen with full size fridge and dishwasher, plates, glasses, cookware and serving pieces. There was a full size walk in closet, and a nice desk area with corkboard to one could post or keep notes in plain sight. The bed was a queen size. This is not a fancy hotel, but good value for the money. My family was able to fix dinner in the room and save a little on the cost of going out. If your looking for an upscale place to stay, this is not it...but good value for the money. Would recommend with qualifications to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherlock6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizEspino, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for the positive review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Since there is a Holiday Inn Express just over the road, I would recommend travellers to defer to that hotel. There is no breakfast and the suite we stayed in smelled of cooked food. If you are anIHG rewards (formerly Priority Club) member. Then stay away, they do not recognise you! Very sad that IHG seems to have downgraded this brand. Formerly they had one of the best breakfasts going!

Room Tip: Do not choose room 216
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear caprontee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel.

I am truly disappointed to hear that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. I am sorry that we were not able to give you the highest level of service and customer care our members deserve. Our staff pay special attention to our members and I can only offer my sincerest apologies for the poor experience and service issues you have encountered.

As a club member, your patronage and support to our hotel are very much important, as such, we are concerned when we fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality of services we offer. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a welcome luxury on the way back from a long cross country trip. The hotel is spotless, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well laid out. The A/C was perfect, the "pantry" a great way to get food without having to get back in the car. A very comfortable chair would have been nicer if not leather, but that's my personal preference.
It's not designed for travelers as much as for business folks staying for awhile so there is no pool.

Be careful when approaching from the East, if you miss the turn you end up going across a bridge to turn around and get back.

Room Tip: even number rooms face east
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizEspino, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Albuquerque, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Please be sure to visit us again whenever you are passing through Albuquerque!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Albuquerque
Residence Inn Albuquerque
#60 of 144 in Albuquerque
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#85 of 144 in Albuquerque
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albuquerque/Downtown-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Albuquerque

Address: 3025 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $77 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Albuquerque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.Candlewood Suites Albuquerque hotel is located in the heart of Albuquerque, New Mexico and is only a one hour drive to Santa Fe. We are near the city's major highways and just 3 miles from downtown. Just a few minutes away from the Albuquerque International Airport, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta Park and the mid-town business district. The finest dining, shopping and entertainment are also close by. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet, two separate phone lines; check e-mail and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from the free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard, now featuring 'Juan Valdez' complimentary coffee to all guests. You can also purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Pets allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Candlewood Albuquerque
Albuquerque Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing