We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, cheap, clean with horrible staff (indicative for Albq)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast
Ranked #127 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed November 11, 2007

I have stayed at this property before, so I admit I am a repeat traveler, but only because of the value. There are problems with this property, but if you want a safe place to sleep, good part of town, and close to the highway...you can't do much better than here.

The Good:
Location in the northern part of town is okay if you don't have business downtown. Room has Internet, small kitchen, comfortable bed, and color tv w/ limited channels. Basically if you've stayed at Motel 6, kick it up a notch with better furnishings and a kitchen w/ fridge. The fridge saves you $ on going somewhere for a greasy breakfast which offsets the $10 more you'll spend here compared to Motel 6.

The Bad:
The parking situation is bad if you arrive late. The whole reason I stay in properties like this is to park at the room so I can unload gear from the car...and keep my eye on the car. If you get here late, you will suffer from a close spot, and the spots are very tight (good for small cars). This trip was twice in a row the staff didn't know I was arriving. This might have something to do with booking the same night on the net, but it's also proof the staff sits on their rears and doesn't update the arrival roster. Bad employees is something Albuquerque is famous for, so I don't really blame Crossland. On a previous occassion they lost my reservation (but i had proof), and they were forced to give me a room next to the office that appeared to be a room utilized by security guards to take naps and milk the clock. While getting out of the shower, the guard tried to enter my room with a key only to be defeated by the security bar. I questioned him and he didn't even want to give his name before scurrying off like a rat. Next morning I reported this and the manager stated the security guards weren't allowed room keys....was he trying to rip me off, or take a nap in a room he thought was vacant??? Take note, if you like privacy such as fully closing drapes, avoid this motel The drapes are hung so passerbys can peek in and see you in the mirror hanging on the wall across from the bed. A simple solution as most road warriors know is to carry a few tacks to close the ends up. Also. if you turn the heater on the drapes will blow up, so bring a few tacks. It all ends good, because after they made me grovel, I got a comped night for the security guard entering the room.

Assessment:
Stay here if you're solo, traveling on a budget, or need a cheap place to stay while on business. Internet is quick (but there is a fee).

Tip:
-Right up the street (San Antonio Blvd and San Pedro) is a place called Blakes Lotaburger. This place serves the best burger and fries I have ever eaten.

-Kinkos copies is south on the freeway one exit to San Mateo Blvd. Travel south on San Mateo one block to Academy and Kinkos is on San Mateo and Academy.

-Grocery is located at San Mateo and Academy.

-Dry cleaner -One block south on San Mateo to Osuna, left on Osuna and first light look left and there is a dry cleaner.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank California_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stayed at the Crossland Economy Studios (which are part of the Extended Stay hotel chains) on 10/22, for one night and it was a decent stay. I booked these "suites" through Hotwire since I didn't care where I stayed as long as it was close to the Sandia Casino Resort (less than 10 minutes away) and low-priced. Since my cousin and I were going just for a day of gambling at the crap tables and we didn't want to pay $169 a night at the Sandia casino/resort we chose Hotwire to pick a hotel for us. The price for the room Hotwire gave us was $34,but with taxes it came out to $44 and change. When we were checking in I requested two beds since we are two dudes. The front desk clerk said it would be a $10 upgrade since Hotwire only booked us a single bed room. He was not a customer service orientated kind of guy or hotel. I thought most places usually gave 2 standard beds but I guess they have to squeeze out money some how? So now the room cost us $54. The clerk "upgraded" us to a 2 queen size bed "suite". When we got to our room it was decent and clean at first but we found somebody's left over food in the microwave. So we requested a different cleaner room and we got a 2 full size bed suite (downgrade, but not really) and smaller bathroom. The rooms were decent and they all are considered "suites" since they are equipped with a mini kitchen, microwaves, and a table. Overall the rooms were good enough and suited our purpose but I could have stayed at a Hilton or similar/well known hotel chain for the price of this one, especially in ABQ on a Monday night. I agree, it is what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ccastillo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

I was only going to be in Albuquerque for about 20 hrs and took a chance on priceline for a cheap hotel. I normaly stay in 4 or 3 star hotels so I knew I was taking a chance with this. It is decent 2 star hotel. It is ment to be an extended stay so you get a small kitchen in your room. The room is small!! The bed is supposed to be a queen but its really a double. The bed was by far the worst thing about the hotel. The bed was extremly uncomfortable. Small shower ( no tub)one little table and chair. About 12 channels on the tv. The hotel itself is in pretty good shape and off the road. It is near the highway and you do hear the cars in the morning. I got the room for $30 so I cant complain really. As I said in the title. It is what it is.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank molser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank Hector-Fechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank TeoHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank monalisa104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Eas...
#106 of 143 in Albuquerque
49 reviews
Studio 6 Albuquerque North
#90 of 143 in Albuquerque
46 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandia Resort & Casino
#33 of 143 in Albuquerque
515 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast

Address: 5020 Ellison St NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-4325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $44 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Albuquerque - Northeast. Our property is located 3 miles away from Old Town and 10 miles from Albuquerque International Sunport. We are located within walking distance from different restaurants and shops. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Albuquerque - Northeast Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing