We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a bad stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Not a bad stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We only stayed one night here, but the overall impression was good. The room was large and comfortable, everything was clean and in order and - importantly on a chilly night - cozy and warm.
The owners were friendly and kept telling us to go back for more breakfast, of which there was a good selection.

Location-wise, it's at most a 5-minute walk to Old Town, if that's your thing. If you're looking for nightlife however, there's not a lot happening. It's a fair distance from downtown ABQ and Old Town closes early. Can't fault the owners for that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arsenaljairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    197
    45
    13
    10
See reviews for
139
242
76
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Amazingly accommodating and hospitable Romanians (with 2 incredibly cute kids), a lovely couple, run this hotel. It is a refreshingly quiet, restful, and enjoyable place. The free breakfast is bountiful. The private jacuzzi in every room is relaxing. The air and the heater are new and work great. Rooms are large, clean, and relaxing. The beds have GREAT mattresses (I slept like a baby for 3 nights - better than at home). I have stayed in 5 star hotels that are not this nice. Treat yourself and stay here. It is also right down the block from Old Town - great restaurants and little shops. THE PLACE TO STAY IN ALBUQUERQUE. Don't let the name EconoLodge fool you. This place is better than some Hiltons and Mariotts I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and ask for a suite. I'm glad I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DKTEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chazy Lake, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very clean; modest; well-equipped rooms. Hospitality of management was awesome! From getting us around town reasonably (we're Amtrakkers) to daily newspapers to incredible full HOT breakfast to BIG smiles and helpfulness including coffee and fruit in the lobby all day long! If we ever get back to Albuquerque, we'd stay there in an instant!

Room Tip: All the rooms (we stayed in two separate ones on two different weekends) seemed great to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

How this place ever got such a high rating is beyond me. The motel must be 60+ years old and it shows the wear and tear very, very much. The only positive thing I can say was it was relatively clean. I suppose if you cannot afford a real hotel, it would do. And I do mean the motel a 2321 Central Ave. NW in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmass, colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We found this via Trip Advisor, and are thankful for your guidance. The Econolodge has fairly basic but clean rooms, with Xbox TV, whirlpool bathtub and all the usuals. However, what makes it 5 star, in our opinion, is the $65 room rate and the excellent service by the hotel staff. A full cooked breakfast is included too (eggs, sausage, potatoes, pastries, fresh fruit, etc.)

Where else can you get all this for just $65 per night. Also, it is just a short 2 block walk to the charming Old Town Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andywiessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice, clean, basic motel. I travel a lot and am not a fan of motels (I don't like easy access from the road, or not being able to open curtains without having people able to look into your room), but this was such a good deal I couldn't pass it up. This is a no-frills room motel. It was very clean and the people running it could not have been nicer. They also have a hot breakfast every morning. If you want something fancy, this isn't for you. The location is a quick walk to Old Town, where there are restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportzchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great value and a great location. We found the room to be clean and spacious. Our room had a mini-fridge, microwave, WiFi (it actually worked) and a HD TV. The breakfast was a full, hot breakfast not the usual ceral and muffin. In the lobby they had complimentary newpapers and baskets of fruit (apples/bananas). They have a indoor pool and rent bicycles. Old Town was a 5 minute walk and there was plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. We planned on two days in Albuquerque and another two in Santa Fe. Instead, we stayed 4 days here and drove to Santa Fe. There is also the Rail Runner which will get you to Santa Fe for $7.00. The staff and attention to detail is another big plus for this motel. We highly recommend the Econo Lodge Old Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Property: Econo Lodge Old Town
Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing