We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Old Town
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Every employee at this hotel was helpful and kind. The room was spotless. There was no germ-ridden bedspread - just blankets encased in clean sheets - I love it when hotels make beds this way. Location was excellent. Free parking, walking distance to old town and neighboring studios, restaurants, the botanic gardens and an unexpected trail system just 2 blocks away - perfect for running in the morning. The pool was indoors and clean. Swim towels were provided. Breakfast was large and plentiful. When we stayed, the hotel was fully booked, so seating at breakfast was tight, but a kind stranger offered to share a table with another couple so that our family of 4 could have his table. At breakfast both mornings we stayed, there were eggs, sausage, bacon, various rolls, waffles, biscuits and gravy, toast, english muffins, bagels, juice and coffee. Wow! My favorite part was the friendliness of the owners. So nice to arrive in a never-before-vistited city and to be greeted with a genuine smile. I would definitely stay here again, and I will recommend it without hesitation to anyone traveling to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    225
    59
    14
    12
See reviews for
162
281
86
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well I did it, I returned to Econ Lodge on Central this year. Every March I take a vacation to Albuquerque Old town and ride to Santa Fe on New Mexico railrunner for Bead Fest for the day.
I stay at Econ Lodge because it is near everything I need. It is 2 blocks from Old town, restaurants, shopping and about 3 miles from downtown. Good trip for a senior.

When I returned I was more so surprised. Last year it had changed hands and the New owners, John and Alice were ever so helpful and friendly. Tell them I sent you. lol. It had been cleaned up ( which I knew my room would be spotless) and repairs were coming along. This year, I came to find the breakfast area had been remodeled and John was a good chef.
They are ever so helpful with transportation, and very suggestive on where to get items if you need them. There is a Walgreens right there also.
John also rents bikes to help get around quite reasonable. They are not far from the Rio Grande River Park which has trails.
I chose to also visit the Natural History Museum which is a must if you have children. It is in walking distance.
I can't believe how they have taken the stress out of my yearly adventure, Thank You Econ Lodge and John and Alice.

Room Tip: I stay in 105 or 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The senior rate was a very reasonable price. The room was clean and the breakfast was better than most at this price. My only complaint was that the walls in-between rooms were thin, so you heard every noise from rooms on both sides of your room. It was walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There are surprisingly few hotel options near Albuquerque's Old Town. They basically fall into two categories: Expensive or sketchy. Fortunately Econo Lodge is there to save the day (or the night, as it were). We stay here every time we visit Albuquerque. It's a simple, reasonably priced place that is clean and well-maintained. The owners are terrific people - very friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. And the free breakfast is great, with a much better selection than you'll typically find at similar hotels. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcornMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a wonderful respite from the usual hotel service. The owner was very helpful in every aspect. She upgraded our room when we needed a first floor room. There was no extra charge and she thought of the upgrade. The restaurant recommendation was the best we had on our trip. It was such a great stay that we wanted to stay longer, but couldn't. Breakfast good and did I mention that our room was clean?

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The new owners are outstanding. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast and front desk staff were great. We met family from Phoenix and we came from Denver it was a half way point for both of us. They recommended great Happy Hour restaurants and even offered to drop us off and pick us up. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed three nights while enjoying the beautiful area. I had booked the king bed suite which was $5 more than the king bed room. I am so glad I did so much more room by having a couch and coffee table in there as well as a lounge chair right next to it. It just gave a bigger area when you walked in rather than walking into a room with the bed right there. The one thing I enjoyed was there was plenty of lighting and bright lights as well. Some places you can barely see in the room - not here it was great. There was also a small fridge and microwave. The room smelled great - it was clean - the bathroom was bright and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The couple running the motel were so nice - so helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our laptop and he came right over to the room to see if he could help - his wi fi was fine it was our computer that had the problem. I know they had a hot breakfast waffles - eggs - sausage - potatoes and I believe cold items as well. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on the food. Coffee is what I have and that was good. We enjoyed our stay and most definitely would stay there again when we come back to Albuquerque.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite it was only $5 more - you get so much more room and besides both rooms were p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,637 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Old Town

Property: Econo Lodge Old Town
Address: 2321 Central Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#12 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Old Town
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing