We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and a decent rate but has problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area
Ranked #69 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The shower drain apparently had not been snaked out since 1962. Talk about a SLOW drain, this room had it. Reported that night as a maintenance issue. Think anyone fixed it the next day? Nope.

The "high speed" wireless was terrible. My Blackberry was faster.

Front door closing mechanism broken.

Somewhat concerning was an early morning shipment of food stuffs that sat out in the hallway for at least 2 hours before I left for work. Dairy product swere in the mix. Not good. Mentioned it to the front desk. They seemed oh-so NOT interested.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 295 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at this Fairfield Inn on our way through Albuquerque. It was a stop over hotel for our driving trip and we were a bit disappointed by this Fairfield. To be fair, it is older and they are trying to remodel but they still have a ways to go to get it up to speed with some of the newer Fairfield Inns we have stayed at recently. The area where the hotel is located isn't great but it was close driving distance to a variety of restaurants. And of course, we did have easy access to I-40, which was important since we were really just driving through Albuquerque.

The room was adequate but we couldn't tell if it had been remodeled yet (so probably hadn't been). The breakfast area was small and very crowded in the morning - we ended up taking a few items back up to our room. The hotel itself seemed large and has a large courtyard so having a small dining area was unusual. Maybe they will remodel this eating area as well.

Not very quiet for our stay as we ended up in a room near the ice machine and an elevator. They were pretty full with several large groups so there were some partys going on which apparently required ice at 2 AM! As we checked out, another guest was complaining about all of the noise and asking why nothing had been done to quiet things down some, especially in the early morning hours. The front desk staff didn't seem to have an answer for her and just stared at her nodding their heads.

Bed was comfortable enough with lots of pillows (when we could sleep without hearing the ice dropping in the ice machine). This hotel was okay for a stop over but if you are on an extended stay in Albuquerque, I'm sure you could find a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed one night while traveling from Texas to Utah. The staff was very helpful and friendly when we checked in. Our room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom was a bit small and the toilet was placed too close to the tub and the door so it was a little difficult to bathe my youngest child. My children loved the pool and had a great time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeemer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Our room was fine, though it needed 2 more lamps (they're remodeling). Bathroom doesn't work for 2 people at once. Water pressure was good, though. There were at least 6 pillows in our room - plenty of choices there. The wall heater/cooler unit was noisy. We turned it off and cracked open our sliding door (we were on the 3rd floor) and slept comfortably. Free wifi in the room was a plus. Skipped breakfast - it was microwaved breakfast sandwiches, cereal, pastries and apples - and had much, much better food at Torino's @ home and will go there again whenever we can.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here for a week during Balloon Festival. The computer was broken for the first 3 days. Front desk staff said it happens all the time and the corporate office won't let them get a new one. They obviously do not see guest needs as a priority! I tried to change to a different hotel but they were all sold out due to the Fesitval. I would think the hotel could see that the loss of just a few customers would pay for a new computer system. Aside from the computer issue, the hotel was below average for a Fairflield. It is old, dated, worn out/stained towels. The future was sticky - not sure if it was dirty or just so old the finish was going bad. The breakfast was OK. The staff was not consistent. Some front desk employees were very good, others seems bothered by guests. Not the best part of town. There are lots of other hotel choices - I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

very nice, clean room, safe area, pleasant staff, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed 2 nights 6/25-27. Location is easily accessible to hiways. Room smelled clean/fresh on arrival, sheets crisp & white. Bath towels very old & thread bare. Very noisy air conditioner, but helped to drown out noise on floor; thin walls & doors. Brkfst fair.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akaSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albuquerque North
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Albuquerque Downtown
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albuquerque/Downtown-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area

Address: 1760 Menaul Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102-1737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albuquerque University Area Hotel Albuquerque
Fairfield Albuquerque
Albuquerque Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing