We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite bad. Avoid if you can.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Blue
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quite bad. Avoid if you can.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in Albuquerque for the balloon festival and since everything was booked up, we ended up staying at Hotel Blue for 2 nights. It was quite pricey which I can understand because of the balloon fiesta but the room and service was quite bad. The shower room was getting blocked and the receptionist did nothing to fix the problem. The breakfast room had no space to accommodate everybody staying at the hotel. Though the location is great, stay away from this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourwonderingfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soonill, General Manager at The Hotel Blue, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I apologize that you did not have a pleasant time during your stay at the hotel blue. We immediately respond to maintenance issues reported to us by our guests, I am sorry that your issue was not fixed during your stay. On our busy days, we expand our breakfast area to the patio on central avenue and to a meeting room adjacent to the breakfast room, the breakfast area should not have been an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    133
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
54
86
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel years ago, so I thought I would take a chance and stay again. What a mistake!

First the pro's........decent location downtown, the beds are very good

The cons........just about everything else. Noisy, unattentive staff and CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?

They do not pay to have ESPN on TV in the rooms. How cheap can you get.

Plenty of other choices in this city, take them.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soonill, General Manager at The Hotel Blue, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you found the hotel going downhill compared to your last stay, but we have continuously made many improvements over the years. Central Avenue sometimes get noisy, but we will be changing all the doors, locks and weather stripping very soon for better sound proofing. We have Directv premium package where you can enjoy over 200 channels (HD) with more choices. All our staffs take pride in their jobs helping our valued guests. I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pros:
1. Contemporary lobby that looked recently renovated.
2. Nice pool with a water-fountain.
3. Friendly and efficient check-in.

Cons:
1. Filthy, and I mean filthy rooms. Urine stained sheets, spots in bathroom, streaked countertops.
2. The public areas seem recently refurbished, however, room corridoors and and bedrooms are in desperate need of renovation. The Motel 6 is a Ritz Compared to this place.
3. Stained and dingy exterior corridoors.
4. Paint chipping exterior doors of the bedrooms.
5. Very limited breakfast selection.
6. Woke to the smell of natural gas in my bedroom on my first evening there.
7. In a very sketchy neighborhood, across the street from a park filled with druggies at night.

In summary, please spend your money elsewhere folks. This place is a high-rise roach motel that is filthy and in a sketchy area of Albuquerque.

I really do not understand all of the positive reviews, I was booked here for 6 nights, and left after my first night, thus loosing money for the following 5 nights. I do have to say, it was well worth my lost money to get out of this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soonill, General Manager at The Hotel Blue, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one at our hotel. All our rooms are double checked to ensure high level of hygiene and cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff take pride in their jobs of providing clean rooms to our guests. A call to our front desk would have solved the problems ( if there was any) right away. It is an old building and we are in the process of renovation; we will be changing the doors and locks very soon, but we keep everything clean and in working conditions.
We only charge for the nights you stay, and there is no penalty at all for early check out. Please give me a call at your convenience to discuss about the charges made to your card and to discuss about the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived at Albuquerque airport and stayed one night at the Hotel Blue. It is just about 10 minutes drive from the airport. The hotel has a big gated parking lot. The room was big, the bathroom rather small. Although the carpets in the hall and the room doors look a bit old and need some renovation, the room and the bathroom was ever so clean. The beds were certainly one of the most comfortable we slept in on our journey. Wifi was free. There is a refrigerator in the room. If you ask you get free bottled water at the front desk. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel has a very nice outdoor pool with trees around it - very inviting to take a swim! Breakfast was lovely and included in the room price. The hotel is near the Old town. We will definatley stay at Hotel Blue again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny260467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel Blue's location on Central Ave makes it the perfect hotel for people unfamiliar with Albuquerque. Just a short walk from the hotel you will find the Rail Runner Express transit system. For $10 bucks you can enjoy a scenic view of New Mexico from the from comfort of a train that takes you to Sante Fe.

The Hotel Blue is also within walking distance of restaurants, a movie theater, art galleries, and a couple of night clubs all on Central Avenue.

The staff at the hotel were nice. My flight left at 6:00AM which was unfortunate because the Hotel's shuttle service starts at 7:00 am. However, the staff called a cab for me which arrived ten minutes early.

The Hotel Blue is definitely a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbrady3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past few years, and I love it. If you are going to a concert downtown, or feel like spending a night on the town (there are tons of great bars on Central), this is the place to stay. Gated parking, a nice deep pool, great views of downtown, and pretty decent rooms make this one of my favs. The tempurpedic mattresses are wonderful, and each room has a "fireplace" in it. Awesome in the winter, and awesome in the summer too. You can turn it on and enjoy heat free flames while the a/c keeps you nice and cool. The rooms have a giant flat screen tv, good wireless Internet, and I've yet to hear a neighbor during one of our stays.
I will say during this last stay that housekeeping stunk. We stayed 3 nights and our bed was made daily, but that's it. Had to ask for towels repeatedly, the bag that covers the ice bucket was missing and never replaced, and the carpet wasn't vacuumed during our stay. Also, the breakfast used to be great but has gone downhill too. All in all, I will stay here again. Can't beat the location or the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505porvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Mauger Estate B&B
#3 of 15 in Albuquerque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
#107 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Blue

Property: The Hotel Blue
Address: 717 Central Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3007
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing