We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand diva if a bit past it's prime.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Blue
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A grand diva if a bit past it's prime.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Got this room for the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. By the time I got it most things were already reserved so iwas glad to get this hotel at twice the normal price (a common practice for Balloon Fiesta) What I got was a close location to the old town center. With a gps it was easy to find. The hotel was a four star hotel probably in it's prime which like the older casino's in Las Vegas are still fine if a bit tired. It shows on the outside and around the lobby, but the room was excellent with Tempu Pedic mattresses and a newly redone furnishing. Microwave, fridgerator, and an electric fireplace for kicks. Breakfast were the usual cold offerings plus scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and potatoes and oatmeal. It was a 25min. drive to the festival 10 min. to the airport. They had secure parking an a good camera system. Solid comfort and value in a gracefully aging hotel.l

Room Tip: We were happily located on the third floor facing the street it was good. One little thing is all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCOTT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    134
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
54
86
59
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel has a great location, extremely helpful front desk crew and shuttle service. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, free internet in the lobby, clean rooms (stayed twice). The Italian place and park across the street with farmer's market are extra benefits. We couldn't have asked for a better stay in ABQ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emjaymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Building is showing it's age on the outside. The room was clean and had a very nice bed. For the location, can't beat it. Staff is great. Free Parking. A small pool. A refrigerator and microwave in a non-suite room is a great addition. Also, real "directv" in the room is so much better than the 18 channels that other hotels have.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheBooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Blue. It doesn't look like the pictures from the outside: very run down and old. It is across from a park frequented by many homeless people. Our room was ok though, even though it was TINY! The 2 queen sized beds took up the entire room. But it was very clean and had everything you need...except for the Channel list, which the front desk said was not needed as I could look at the guide on tv...hmm, yeah, if I have hours to go through hundred of pages of it!
Breakfast was poor - usual breakfast buffet stuff...they serve Starbucks coffee, but it's so diluted it's like tan water. Undrinkable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it is downtown Albuquerque, well there is a lot of noise downtown, so you get noise in your room. We stayed there with our 2 yr old and he slept just fine but I am a light sleeper and I woke up several times during the night. Our room was specially noisy because we were in a room facing central st. which is full of restaurants and bars, my friend had a room facing the pool and when i went to hang out I did not notice nearly as much noise. So if you are bother by noise ask for a room that does not face the street. The pool was too cold to swim on it. I would say about 70 F or under. On Saturdays there is a farmers market right across the street from the hotel, they start playing live music at 8 am. We actually enjoyed hanging out there. Oh, and the breakfast was better than I expected from the bad reviews it had. They had eggs, potatoes, sausage and gravy, good coffee etc I am actually pleased with their food selection. I feel like we paid a little too much for what we got.

Room Tip: away from the street facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alexia_castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a room with The Hotel Blue months prior to Balloon Fiesta. I looked on line (Expedia, etc.) and called the hotel to inquire about prices. After speaking with the hotel (for the 2nd time to confirm the price of $79 per night) I decided to book with a female employee through the hotel to avoid them losing money through a 3rd party. I received a confirmation email that said the price broke down to $89 (with taxes) per night. When we arrived they informed me that it was $79 for the first night and $130 for the following nights. I was obviously shocked because I had a printed confirmation and verbal confirmation from when I booked the trip. The staff was very unhelpful despite the fact that I had proof of the discounted price. Needless to say I was charged much more than I was quoted.... and because of Fiesta I was not able to find a hotel room elsewhere for cheaper. Had THB been honest with me up front I would have booked with another hotel months ago. I DO NOT APPRECIATE THE BAIT AND SWITCH TRICK THEY PULLED ON ME! This experience with customer satisfaction was a huge disappointment and ultimately pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess78745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

everything was just right. though i will add - it doesn't have interior hallway access to the rooms like most "hotels"... it's outdoors, more typical of the "motel" style. But that's about the only negative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank SteveO635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,138 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Mauger Estate B&B
#4 of 13 in Albuquerque
298 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
#106 of 144 in Albuquerque
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Blue

Property: The Hotel Blue
Address: 717 Central Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3007
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Blue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing