- Free Wifi
- Free Parking
I booked this months prior to my visit due to its ridiculously low rate - $42 all inclusive. Decent reviews too. And I never thought about it again until I was driving through town on Central Avenue, looking at all of these vintage Route 66 hotels, and thinking, "I could have probably paid the same rate and stayed at a place with a lot more character." Oh well.
Not that I had any problems with this place. Really convenient to Petroglyph National Monument, my first morning destination. Well, it's really convenient everywhere - Albuquerque has a generally clustered tourist area. The room was fine, and the WiFi functioned. Breakfast was the weakest moment in 6 days on the road in the Southwest (Special K), but it is a Super 8 after all.
I wouldn't have any problem staying here again, but I'd make sure to scout some Central Ave spots first.
Thank you for your feedback, Scott. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay again! As you mentioned, our location right off of Interstate 40 makes travelling throughout Albuquerque quick and easy. I would like to apologize for the lacking breakfast items; we do provide waffles, two types of cereal, yogurt, fruit cups, coffee, juice, tea, oatmeal, and bread for toasting. I'm sorry there was a lack of selection during your stay. I do realize that some places on Central may have a little more character, but we hope that you choose our clean, quiet location on any future trips through Albuquerque.
My wife and I just spent 12 nights at this motel. While the property itself is mediocre, I found the staff excellent, especially Derrick who, I've noted, other reviewers have trashed. Before you trash someone, especially online where what you say will live forever, you might want to find out if the person has the authority, training, and resources to do what you would like. What I found was that quite a few things were simply out of the staff's control. If you want, blame the company, not the employee. A number of times Derrick (and others) went out of their way to try to accommodate us, often succeeding beyond the call of duty.
The breakfast was quite good, supplies ample, the staff replentishing things when out. One complaint: there was not always decaf and, when there was, it was not labeled as such.
While we were there, there were heavy rains, the roof over the elevator leaked, and it took four or five days until they dealt with the rotting smell of the elevator carpet.
There is a clean and cheap laundromat on the premises.
One specific issue: several times the information staff had at the motel was different from the info available from the Super 8 800 number, both different from what one saw online. This is not the fault of the Motel staff.
It's also true that some people/reviewers think the world revolves around them, unable to accept that something else may be going on that legitimately puts them back in the line.
And some people are just whiners.
We are heading back there next week. The place is not beautiful and far from perfect, but for the price, my only real complaint was the elevator smells and, maybe, the fact that external doors were often open at night, not requiring a key card for entry.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am delighted to hear that you found our customer service to exceed your expectations. As for the coffee fiasco, I am working with my staff on brewing decaffeinated coffee as well as labeling it as such so that guests do not face that inconvenience. Since you have left, we have had the roof over the elevator fixed and have had our door locks assessed so those are no longer issues. We are very happy you chose Super 8 West initially, and that you keep coming back. We do appreciate our loyal guests. We hope to see you soon!