We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree is okay, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque
Ranked #29 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doubletree is okay, but could be better”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree when in Albuquerque for a conference. The front desk staff was nice and the room was fine. The restaurant was not great but there are many places within walking distance. The biggest issue was getting transportation.

I had some problems when trying to get a shuttle. When I called the hotel before I arrived and inquired about a shuttle from the airport, I was told that I needed to catch a cab. When I arrived my friend told me that there was indeed a shuttle that you could take to and from the airport. I inquired about getting on the list to go back to the airport on Saturday and was told that the first shuttle left at 6:00 a.m. My flight boarded at 6:30 and I was concerned that this was too close but they assured me that it would be fine and that they could not leave any earlier. I was worried enough that I had them call the cab company and reserved a cab to leave at 5:30. When I came downstairs at 5:25 the morning I was departing there was no cab - I was told that a cab had been there, but just left with someone else. However, they offered to take me on the shuttle that was leaving at 5:30. I had asked them 3 times (and three different people) if there was a shuttle before 6:00 am. and was told all 3 times that 6 was the earliest. Needless to say, I took the 5:30 shuttle and arrived at the gate with minutes to spare. If I had waited until 6:00 I would have likely missed my flight because of the security delays. Not sure why I was getting the wrong information, but the entire situation left a bad taste in my mouth. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockettmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
rockettmom,
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I sincerely apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the transportation and inconsistent information. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards. We’ve addressed the problems you mentioned with the shuttle. Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and we hope you’ll give us another chance the next time you travel to Albuquerque.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    403
    248
    127
    73
See reviews for
211
213
100
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The gal greeting me was friendly until she saw that I booked the room thru Priceline. I asked if a king was available and she said with a $10 up charge which I declined. She put me in a double "handicap" room. This room was missing the sink stop in the bathroom, frame around mirror splitting - just not nice. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcjc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
hcjc68,
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful for my stay. I was walking distance from so many things that I was able to entertain myself nicely w/o a car. I chose not to eat breakfast in the Hotel On my arrival however I had the special dinner in the bar. Fish was yummy and the brownie dessert with ice cream and fruit was over the top delicious.

Room Tip: I liked the Mountain view from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanT923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
JeanT923,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Doubletree. We’re happy to have had you stay with us and are glad you received friendly service from our great stay and found our hotel conveniently located for your travel needs. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What wonderful people! After flying in waaaay too early to check in, Debby at the front desk turned us on to a delicious little restaurant where we could go get some authentic New Mexican breakfast. It was too delicious. Then we found out our rooms would be ready early and in fact, they were ready a half-hour before that! I have seen some complaints on here lately about the cleanliness, etc. Well, my room was wonderful. One of my colleagues was given a room on the 12th floor. I guess that used to be their smoking floor (it's all non-smoking now) and he had to get a new room because of the smell. The only issue U had about my room was that the bathroom was a bit scrunchy. Other than that I was as happy as a clam. The restaurant was great for breakfast and Anthony treated me like a regular customer. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capoppy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
capoppy55,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Doubletree. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and found the cleanliness of your room to meet your expectations. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our staff and their excellence in service. I’ll make sure Debby and Anthony receive a special commendation for their outstanding service. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for those needing a great downtown location. It is right next door to the convention center and within walking distance of many great breakfast, lunch and dinner spots.
The hotel is quite new and all rooms offer free Wifi. Televisions are HD and offer many channels.
My only complaint is the $12 parking fee if you are bringing a car to the hotel. Just one of those add on fees that bites!
Enjoy great Mexican style food in town. Very spicy offerings for those that like some heat!
Z Man

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators. Less traffic outside the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOWARD Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
HOWARD Z,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Doubletree, and we’re glad you enjoyed your visit and our great downtown location. Thank you for your recommendations and letting future travelers know about our great hotel and wonderful offerings. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, big comfortable rooms, super helpful staff. they give you so much for the price including free shuttle service to/from the airport and popular city destinations. The bellmen and concierge were so helpful and friendly, going out of their way for us. The bar is a great touch, and the restaurant had a delicious breakfast buffet. I did not get to use the pool or the gym but it's nice that they have those amenities. Efforts to be green always get a thumbs up from me,and this hotel does a lot. And of course, FRESH BAKED COOKIES!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlinsyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
dlinsyann,
We’re happy to have had you stay with us and we appreciate you choosing Doubletree. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our property, the comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff. We’re proud to offer such a wonderful variety of amenities to our guests. We enjoyed your company and hope you’ll be back for another visit. We’ll have a fresh baked cookie waiting for you. Thank you again.


Sincerely,
Gus Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

With its location right next to the convention center downtown, this hotel is perfect if you are there for a convention or other business downtown. However, the downtown area was eerily deserted even on weekdays, even at "rush hour" let alone later at night. I didn't feel unsafe necessarily, though the fact that I needed to insert my room key to enter the hotel from the street on the convention center side suggested security concerns. You can walk to part of "Rt. 66," somewhat of a tourist attraction, and there is some nice outdoor art downtown (the city obviously puts a priority on art), but overall there isn't much within walking distance including restaurants. For breakfast though there is a nice little place on the corner just past the Convention Center that I recommend over the usual inflated hotel prices. The food in the restaurant hotel was fine (New Mexican) but the night we ate there for dinner it was so deserted that the friendly waitress was actually intrusive in the number of times she stopped by to see if we needed anything. The hotel bar area is very non-descript, not very inviting. The room was large, clean, and comfortable with minor negatives: the AC fan was very loud (kept waking me up at night when it came on) and the tub was very slippery- we put down a wet towel because there was no mat. There was no mini-fridge (apparently you can order one for an extra $10/night) and the ice bucket was small. The Internet worked fine. Parking was extra charge, but conveniently located.
On the positive side, EVERYONE on the staff we encountered was exceptionally friendly, not just in a routine trained-to-do-so way, but in a genuine way. (I added a star for service.) And of course the warm cookies at check-in are yummy. Nice view of the city and mountains on the horizon from the upper floors (there aren't many other tall buildings in ABQ).
If you have a car, it's not a far drive to the old town area (more charm there) or further out to the petroglyph national monument (we had a nice hike in one of the canyons there).

Room Tip: Great view from the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHotels, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
DT25,
Thank you for writing a review on your experience with us at Doubletree. I’m happy you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and location conveniently located near the convention center. I greatly appreciate your kind comments about our staff and their excellence in service. We have a great team here that genuinely cares about each guest experience. I hope you enjoyed your hike in the canyons at Petroglyph National Monument and exploring Old Town! I apologize for the details that did not make for a positive experience and appreciate you bringing these to my attention. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We value you as a guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Luna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#74 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque
Address: 201 Marquette Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#35 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern surroundings, warm hospitality and a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie await your arrival at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Albuquerque. Located downtown, the hotel is conveniently connected by underground concourse to the Albuquerque Convention Center, close to the Civic Plaza and the historic Old Town. Albuquerque International Sunport Airport is just five miles from the hotel. Surrounded by trees, and with stunning views of the Sandia Mountains, this Albuquerque hotel offers a unique, relaxing setting in the heart of the city.Make yourself at home in a guest room decorated in soothing tones, and with complimentary high-speed internet access and amenities for work and relaxation. Choose a suite for a separate living area, upgraded amenities package, dining table and sofa bed. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel has flexible event space for up to 300 guests and a fully equipped business center. Print from your room and pick it up at the business center with our useful remote printing service.Catch up with work while sipping your favorite Starbucks coffee at Onyx Café, taking advantage of the complimentary WiFi in all public areas, or gather with friends and colleagues at ICE Lounge, enjoying the contemporary decor and range of refreshing ice cold drinks. Sample New Mexican and coastal Californian cuisine at La Oja Restaurant at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax poolside, admiring the mountain views and fresh air, or work out at the fitness center featuring the latest in cardiovascular and strength equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Doubletree Albuquerque
Albuquerque Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing