We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to get to, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
279 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Difficult to get to, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Nice Hampton Inn alongside I-40 at Carlisle Boulevard. Because of the street system in the area the Inn is difficult to get to for the first timer. It was our second time to stay there.

Very nice and quiet. Clean and a very good value.

We ran into another tour group at this hotel. They were not quite the pain as an early one we ran into on the same trip. Don't like to stay where a tour group stays!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    177
    73
    28
    10
See reviews for
197
177
50
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

My husband, son and I stayed here in July 2010. We, luckily, had pre-reserved our room as there was no availability when we arrived. The hotel was your typical Hampton inn – however the woman working the front desk was significantly LESS than pleasant as we checked in. Despite that the room was nice with all the standard amenities expected of a Hampton Inn. A note to travelers – if you are looking for AMAZING Indian food there is a restaurant called the Taj Mahal located in a strip mall just south of the hotel (and south of I-40) which is unbelievable – we would go back just to eat at the restaurant! Also – the hotel entrance is a bit tricky as the sign is very very small so pay attention as you cross over the freeway as it is just past the bridge on the right!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf,Md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was a good economic choice, breakfast was good,beds comfortable, pillows lousy,too soft, staff friendly & helpful,However, I developed a rash, which I thought was from the heat as it was extremely hot but I discovered when i went to the Dr. 2 days after returning were bed bug bites!!!! Needless to say that changed the tone for me. The only other thing I would recommend would be for them to provide umbrellas at the pool as it is totally exposed with no shade whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplycuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a follow up review of this Hampton Inn. I was contacted by Hampton Inn and also the front desk manager of this Hampton Inn. They apologized for my inconvenience and sent me two Starbucks gift cards. I felt like that was a real effort on their part to try and make amends for the situation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Overall, I did like this hotel, but just make sure that you ask for a non-smoking room. I made the mistake of clicking no preference on my reservation and got stuck in a smoking room. I probably could have asked for another room, but I checked in fairly late and was only staying for the night so I just dealt with it. You get everything you've come to expect from a Hampton Inn... Clean rooms (aside from the smoke), comfortable beds, good service, but most importantly you get all this at a great value. The location wasn’t the greatest (about a $20 cab ride to the airport). Just know that since this is a Hampton Inn, you are guaranteed to leave every morning with a full stomach. Their hot breakfast is nothing short of amazing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtexan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern, mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We just checked into this Hampton and will stay 4 nights. We had already booked thru Travelocity. The desk clerk told us that we could have saved 20% by calling the hotel directly or calling the Hampton 800 number. I did that...and 79.00 was the rate they gave me. She continued to argue with me that we could have had the room for 69.00 if we had called. I gave up arguing...and we were still very pleased with our 79.00 rate. The rooms are small but very nice. The pool is small but again very nice. It is surrounded by construction on the interstate so it is a bit confusing to get to.

We love Hampton and try to always book with Hampton/Hilton when possible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the sea, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent two weeks touring around AZ, NM, TX, OK, and CO, and this was the nicest room of the half dozen Hampton Inns of the we stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Property: Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Address: 2300 Carlisle Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#29 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midtown area of Albuquerque, located off the North Campus of the University of New Mexico. Hotel offers a hot Hampton breakfast buffet, and now has a new meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Albuquerque - University / Midtown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing