We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Overall, I did like this hotel, but just make sure that you ask for a non-smoking room. I made the mistake of clicking no preference on my reservation and got stuck in a smoking room. I probably could have asked for another room, but I checked in fairly late and was only staying for the night so I just dealt with it. You get everything you've come to expect from a Hampton Inn... Clean rooms (aside from the smoke), comfortable beds, good service, but most importantly you get all this at a great value. The location wasn’t the greatest (about a $20 cab ride to the airport). Just know that since this is a Hampton Inn, you are guaranteed to leave every morning with a full stomach. Their hot breakfast is nothing short of amazing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtexan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    174
    71
    27
    9
See reviews for
195
173
49
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern, mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We just checked into this Hampton and will stay 4 nights. We had already booked thru Travelocity. The desk clerk told us that we could have saved 20% by calling the hotel directly or calling the Hampton 800 number. I did that...and 79.00 was the rate they gave me. She continued to argue with me that we could have had the room for 69.00 if we had called. I gave up arguing...and we were still very pleased with our 79.00 rate. The rooms are small but very nice. The pool is small but again very nice. It is surrounded by construction on the interstate so it is a bit confusing to get to.

We love Hampton and try to always book with Hampton/Hilton when possible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the sea, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent two weeks touring around AZ, NM, TX, OK, and CO, and this was the nicest room of the half dozen Hampton Inns of the we stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hampton Inns surely are known for one thing. Being basic, no frills, comfortable, yet cheap. This Hampton follows that model. Rooms were very Hampton Inn-esque. Nothing spectacular, but nothing disappointing either. The breakfast was typical Hampton style.

There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel nowadays. But, nothing disturbed my sleeping. In fact, there was a sign in the lobby alerting patrons to the renovations inside the hotel, but it said it would only be during the 10am-6pm hours. I was in the hotel between 10pm-8am, and never heard any construction, so they held true to their hours.

In any case, a pretty no-frills Hampton that does its job: beds and a cheap rate.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank bkafrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
146 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Second time I have stayed at this Hampton due to its convenient location literally right off the I-40, only about 10 minutes from the airport, and a great rate of only 85.00 per nigth on Hiltonhonors website. Overall an expected nice stay, very comfortable beds, good breakfast and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon.
Compared to many other Hampton Inns I have stayed at though this one could use a few updates:
* Needs hard wired internet in the rooms as the wireless was slow.
* Limited TV channels selection.
* No Gym on site. Passes are given for the Midtown Health Club next door which was really nice and HUGE, but if you don't have headphones then you can't hear any tv's. And sometimes you just don't feel like leaving the hotel to work out. It is walking distance, but the area looks very secluded between the hotel and the gym and I don't know if I would feel safe walking it at night.
* Furniture in Rooms could stand to be updated.
* Old A/C and Heating units not controlled by thermostat so getting the room to a comfy temp was tricky.

I certainly would not persuade anyone from not staying here, just want everyone to know what to expect. .

  • Liked — location and rate
  • Disliked — gym off site, limited tv, non thermostat controlled a/c
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

Like all other Hamptons, this one was clean, comfortable, free breakfast, and and overall good value. Its location is on a side street, and the outside exterior isn't that appealing, plus it is in a location where you can't walk to much...but Albuquerque is small, so if you have a car...it isn't a big deal. The hotel does not have outside enterances to the rooms...so it's nice a safe. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They always had a smile for you. They do have a pool in the back of the hotel, be we didn't get the chance to use it. There really isn't much more to say about this hotel. I would definantely recommend it...and be sure to catch the tramway in the Sandia Mountains. It is spectacular!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcstone47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

I guess it was bound to happen sometime. Our first bad Hampton Inn experience. My family and I (wife and 7 year old son) recently spent 1 night at this particular Hampton Inn and everything that you can almost always count on went wrong. First, we had just arrived and really only wanted a place to stay that was clean, had a nice pool for my son and was located in a safe area. After we had checked in (really smoth as always) my son "flew" down to the pool and, after gaining permission, jumped into the pool. No big deal other than when I looked into the water itself it was really dirty with things floating in it that I'm not really sure what they were. A really spooky sight I must say. My wife also noticed that the jacuzzi was empty and contained about 6-10 inches of what I'll loosely call water of some sort. I immediately ended the pool session, contacted the manager ( a pleasant but harried young man) who then called his maintenqnce engineer over who explained that the cleaning and circulation system weren't working properly and hadn't been "for a while". As for the jacuzzi it had apparently been out for at least a week and who knows when it will be prepared. This was a real yuck experience. The room itself was clean but the pillows were the bouncy foam type which pretty much killed my back for the night. Well, I thought to myself, at least the breakfast will be fine. How wrong I was. The sausage/gravy was so watered down as to be laughable (which many people were actually doing when looking at this "stuff"). Believe it or not the orange juice and apple juices were almost tasteless as they too were watereded down beyond recognition . Once again the staff were quite nice when informed of these problems but were helpless to do anything about it. As almost all of my many stays at assorted Hampton Inns have been quite predictable and satisfactory for my family this stay was quite a disappointment. Given the many choices in town we won't be staying here again

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BigDaddysintheHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Property: Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Address: 2300 Carlisle Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#29 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midtown area of Albuquerque, located off the North Campus of the University of New Mexico. Hotel offers a hot Hampton breakfast buffet, and now has a new meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Albuquerque - University / Midtown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing