We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three and a half stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Southern US
Level Contributor
375 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Three and a half stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Good: Excellent Breakfast, Very Good Employees, Nicely decorated, fairly new
The Bad: Difficult Access from roads, THIN WALLS

This is a nice place with very engaged staff. It's a typical newer hampton in terms of look and decor. The breakfast bar was very, very good for a free add on. There was a great selection at breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and friendly staff. The gym was very good with excellent equipment. The hotel is fairly well located for the area.

The access to the hotel is very difficult with a badly marked, very small, one way road. Leaving the hotel you are forced out the back way through an odd collection of neighborhood roads.

The walls of the rooms are seriously thin and under insulated. I could hear televisions and regular conversations from the rooms on both sides of mine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadLessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Greetings,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University/Midtown in Albuquerque during your travels. As the General Manager of the hotel, I try to get out and meet our guests. Unfortunately I am not able to meet everyone. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and I wanted to send you a note and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

I understand you had some issues during your stay! I do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and appreciate that you brought this to my attention. This is no way we represent the product and value your feedback. I would also like to extend to you that if your travels bring you back to Albuquerque please call me personally or email me and I will make sure you have a problem free stay!

Thank you and have a great day!
Julia Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    174
    71
    27
    9
See reviews for
195
173
49
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Extraordinarily clean rooms, bathrooms, lobby, breakfast area, workout room and pool area. Stayed two nights with three kids. Kids loved the well maintained pool. It was a nice outdoor family environment without a lot of extra unnecessary frills. The beds were very comfortable, and the room decor is new, updated and cozy. Great new flat screen tv! The wifi was a bit slow, but it didn't stop us from using it extensively. We had room service which was reasonably priced and had an extensive selection. Lots of good places to eat near by which were not just the usual fast food. We actually had Vietnamese food at a little place that's less than a mile away. We had the complimentary breakfast at the hotel, though. The selection was very good with fresh cut fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, waffles (the kind you make in the waffle iron yourself). They also have four types of coffee, juice, hot water for tea, you get the picture...you won't go hungry.
The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismfaustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University/Midtown in Albuquerque during your travels. As the General Manager of the hotel, I try to get out and meet our guests. Unfortunately I am not able to meet everyone. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and I wanted to send you a note and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

The entire staff strives to give you the most comfortable, productive and problem free stay as we can. In fact, we want your stay to be perfect! If we could have done anything better, I want to know. Please do not hesitate to call me or email me. If your travels bring you back to Albuquerque, I truly hope that you choose to stay with us again!

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We just stayed one night passing through and I thought this hotel was very nice. We were on the 3rd floor and the view of the mountains was very pretty. Very clean, bed very comfy. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish89207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Greetings,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University/Midtown in Albuquerque during your travels. As the General Manager of the hotel, I try to get out and meet our guests. Unfortunately I am not able to meet everyone. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and I wanted to send you a note and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

The entire staff strives to give you the most comfortable, productive and problem free stay as we can. In fact, we want your stay to be perfect! If we could have done anything better, I want to know. Please do not hesitate to call me or email me. If your travels bring you back to Albuquerque, I truly hope that you choose to stay with us again!

Thank you and have a great day!
Julia Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This Hampton Inn is in line with others of the same brand, which I normally highly recommend. However, in this case I suggest you look elsewhere. The property is on a one-way drive immediately off the freeway. To get back onto the main road, or the freeway, you've got to drive around bit. It's a real hassle because you simply cannot quickly get where you need to go.

Second, and way more important, there is absolutely no sound insulation in the rooms. Stayed two nights and didn't sleep a wink due to the freeway that is right outside the window. Worse yet, I could hear every excruciating detail of my neighbor's morning ritual...if you know what I mean...and I do mean EVERY detail.

Staff was friendly, breakfast was adequate. Breakfast nook was a bit tight. Coffee bar is situated immediately across the walkway from the front desk, so it gets congested in the morning. Fitness center had a stationary bike, an elliptical machine, and a treadmill, all of which looked rather new. My king sized bed wasn't particularly comfortable.

All in all, recommend you pass this one up.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RadarNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Greetings,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University/Midtown in Albuquerque during your travels. As the General Manager of the hotel, I try to get out and meet our guests. Unfortunately I am not able to meet everyone. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and I wanted to send you a note and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

The entire staff strives to give you the most comfortable, productive and problem free stay as we can. In fact, we want your stay to be perfect! If we could have done anything better, I want to know. Please do not hesitate to call me or email me. If your travels bring you back to Albuquerque, I truly hope that you choose to stay with us again!

Thank you and have a great day!
Julia Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We love Hampton Inns and this one was great. Nice room, great staff and a very good value. We would stay here again. Nicely appointed rooms and a good location if you are traveling on I-40.

Room Tip: When exiting I-40 it is tricky to turn in and we missed the turn. Watch for a small Hampton sign an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia M, General Manager at Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Greetings,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn University/Midtown in Albuquerque during your travels. As the General Manager of the hotel, I try to get out and meet our guests. Unfortunately I am not able to meet everyone. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and I wanted to send you a note and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

I understand you had some issues during your stay! I do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you and appreciate that you brought this to my attention. This is no way we represent the product and value your feedback. I would also like to extend to you that if your travels bring you back to Albuquerque please call me personally or email me and I will make sure you have a problem free stay!

Thank you and have a great day!

Julia Rucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton, as our house was being painted. I waited in the lobby for my husband to come pick me up in the lobby as I have a hard time walking. I was getting coffee for my husband, when I heard the front desk person, here name was Ramona, she was on the phone with a smug look on her face and was loud enough for all to hear, that she is training yet one more manager. She said they should pay her extra as she ends up doing all the work anyway. I told my husband about it and he said I would not like to work there with that person. The hotel is clean and the rest of the staff was nice. It was just her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie1234868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here one night while passing through Albuquerque. The location provides relatively easy access to I-40 and, as we had hoped, we missed most of the rush hour traffic coming into town as we headed east in the morning. Just be sure to get detailed directions from the front desk about the easiest way to get back onto I-40 once you get to the hotel. Some Hampton Inns are nicer and better managed than others and this one seems above average. The bedrooms and bathrooms were reasonably large and clean, and the beds and furnishings were comfortable. Nothing terribly unique or particularly special about the property but we have paid a lot more for a lot worse.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highway_Marker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque

Property: Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque
Address: 2300 Carlisle Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-3962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#29 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#30 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midtown area of Albuquerque, located off the North Campus of the University of New Mexico. Hotel offers a hot Hampton breakfast buffet, and now has a new meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn University Midtown Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Albuquerque - University / Midtown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing